We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Hidden Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eli's BBQ

Eli's BBQ
Ranked #6 of 1,878 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Elis is the best BBQ I have had anywhere. I personally liked it even more than the famous Arthur Bryant's in Kansas City! It is a true hidden gem... no sign outside, just a sillhouette of a pig on a non-descript building. The pulled pork sandwich topped with cole slaw is my favorite. The pork has little crispy bits which are fantastic. Their sides are also amazing. I have never liked grits before, but their jalapeno grits are to die for, as are their baked beans. A must!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank syracusessm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    120
    25
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good little secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This place is great! It's not near much, but it's a hidden gem. Pulled pork sandwich is delicious and the sides are all pretty good. The plates, a sandwich and two sides are a good price. The ribs are not as tasty as the pulled pork and the cornbread wasn't worth getting a second time. Must trys are the pulled pork, beans, and maybe grits or mac and cheese. Cool little setting too with some random farm tools and records you can change while you're there eating. Don't forget to have a glass bottle coke!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nm4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I am somewhat of a BBQ snob, so I was a bit skeptical about how good it may be, when locals rave about the Montgomery Inn having the best BBQ. I have lived in the south and had some great BBQ, so I was ready to see how Eli's measured up. I was shocked something this good was coming out of such a small place!! The pulled pork was the star, but the sides definitely made the meal complete. We had the cole slaw, BBQ beans, and jalopeno grits. All were amazing! The atmosphere is great too, especially the old phonograph playing any album you may choose. If you love BBQ, you have got to try this place. Mongomery who??!! It is worth the wait, trust me!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great new addition on the Cincinnati dining scene. The pulled pork is outstanding. I especially like the sauce that comes with it that is not too sweet (unlike some other ribs/BBQ places). The cole slaw is also unusually good - nicely chilled and crisp. As others have said, coming here during prime time means lines and no place to sit indoors, so coming at "off" hours is a good idea if you can do it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelpro513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
226 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Thought you had seen it all. Been to the best barbecue places. Ate that quintessential pulled pork sandwich and couldn't imagine eating anything better. Think again. Go to Eli's.

This small, unpretentious restaurant, with a huge smoker in the back, located on an out of the way street in Cincinnati, serves awesome food. The menu is limited, but everything on it is outstanding. The pulled pork and smoked turkey sandwiches, served with barbecue sauce and topped with coleslaw, are the best I have eaten, moist and flavorful and with just enough spice. They also serve pork ribs and hot dogs. The hot dogs are interesting: first smoked, then deep fried and then fried on a griddle. They are served on a toasted bun with barbecue sauce, cole slaw and pork crispies. To die for.

Order a platter and you have the choice 2 sides: mac & cheese, mashed potatoes, baked beans, coleslaw or jalapeno corn bread.

The atmosphere is antique store 1960's, with a turntable playing classic 1960's vinyl records. A nice touch.

Great barbecue, great atmosphere. Go there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eli's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Eli's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing