We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cincinnati College School of Music concerts are wonderful!”

Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra
Attraction details
Scotia, New York
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Cincinnati College School of Music concerts are wonderful!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

When I last visited this city, I saw a notice of a concert there and decided to go. The audience was sparse, but the talent was not! Heard some fantastically talented young people who undoubtedly will go on to professionally teach music or even become famous performers. Don't overlook this opportunity while visiting there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Orchestra in a Wonderful Auditorium”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Hearing the Symphony in Music Hall is a wonderful experience no mater what the program. The Orchestra is world renowned and the Hall is nearly acoustically perfectly balanced.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New Years Eve with the POPS!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We couldn't decide how to ring in the New Year and at the almost last minute decided to splurge on the concert and after ball with the symphony... Oh my gosh I am so happy we did! We had such a fun time! The concert was fabulous and the after party was such a great time!
The after party was pretty pricey but it turned out it included an open bar which for New Years Eve was awesome!
Only draw back was once the party was over it was pretty scary getting back to our car because the venue isn't in a very safe area of town and the facility did not offer security for the walk. So if you go make sure you park in the garage that's really close and not the surface lots even a block away.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BethAnneGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Louis Langree A Lot of Hype-CSO= Fabulous !!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Nov. 30 we attended the Thanksgiving weekend concert of the CSO doing Ravel and Gershwin. As there is a new music dir. , Louis Langree-the place was sold out. The program featured Mother Goose suite by Ravel and the Left Handed Concerto with Gerstein as the soloist. Both were absolutely excellent. Mr. Langree who IS French knows his way around Ravel. The Rhapsody in Blue was terrible-one of the worst renditions I have ever heard anywhere. Gerstein tried some "variations" and Mr. Langree worked to drown him out whenever possible. American in Paris was somewhat better. The less than sophisticated Cincinnati audience jumped from their seats to give him a standing ovation. The orchestra however and the orchestra solos were superb. The CSO is a wonderful orchestra and they worked hard they deserved a better conductor for the Gershwin.
Conclusion: Louis should stick to French music and things he knows and leave Gershwin alone. The CSO has really hyped up this guy as well and this has sold seats. Hopefully the upcoming concerts in the next year or so will be a lot better than the partial disaster of this past weekend.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank triptique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Cincinnati Pops has tremendous energy and skill”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I have enjoyed the symphony and the pops for over 30 years. Recently the pops created a tribute to Erich Kunzel and performed some of his greatest hits. It was spectacular! John Morris Russell is superb as conductor as was Erich Kunzel and as was Keith Lockhart who left Cincinnati to take over at the Boston Pops. The pops orchestra are world travellers and world class performers.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ernst G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing