We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything we expected and more.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Senate

Senate
Ranked #36 of 1,952 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Everything we expected and more.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

First of all, the fact that we got a table in < 5 minutes on a Friday night made us VERY happy.

Pig tails = fantastic idea, almost like a combination of ribs and wings.

We had the Korean and the Trailer Park hot dogs. Never thought hot dogs would be among my favorite meals in a city. Tasty, and totally filling. The duck fat fries (which appear to be a Cincinnati staple) were a nice touch.

If you are in Cincinnati for a limited time, one of the places you must visit for a meal is Senate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank P93S27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    64
    21
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nuevo, CA
Level Contributor
251 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“The only time an hour wait to be seated for a hot dog was worth the wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I was traveling with a "Foodie" who suggested we eat here. When I looked at the menu and saw it was mainly hot dogs I was hesitant but he insisted and boy am I glad he did.

Instead of giving you a buzzer or something hey take your cell # and text you about 10 minutes before your table is ready so you can walk around the area.

Once seated it is a little cramped and loud due to the popularity of the joint but not to the point of being a deterrent. The small kitchen is small but open so that you can see what is going on.

From the menu I highly recommend the "my wife's salad" for starters. They have a variety of gourmet hot dogs, and have two veggie substitutions each night. I had one of the hot dogs with the veggie substitute and it was definitely THE BEST veggie or meat hotdog I have ever had. I never thought I would be bragging about a hot dog but Senate is a must.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank deamole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpinelady
2 reviews
“fun spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Fantastic original cocktails!! Amazing truffle fries! Fun atmosphere.... Must try if you haven't. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alpinelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
91 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“If you haven't gone, you should”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is such a fun, unique eatery and everyone should go once! Even if there's a wait, it's worth it. Even if you usually watch your diet, you should eat a dog and fries here anyway. It's worth it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Truffle fries and hot dogs loaded”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Small, quaint , great food casual get the truffle fries and mussels 13th and vine get there early but the wait is worth the fun . Amanda Byrnes dong very good

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sabres41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senate also viewed

 

Been to Senate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing