We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“W&G Downtown Cincinnati Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wine Guy Bistro - CLOSED

The Wine Guy Bistro
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“W&G Downtown Cincinnati Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

This review is for the W&G near the Great American Ballpark in Cincinnati. We went to a ballgame there while staying at the Marriott Kingsgate. We drove to a location near the ballpark a couple of hours before the game, parked our car and hit the streets looking for a place to eat. We didn’t expect to find a place of quality, only perhaps a bar with sandwiches etc. We spotted the W&G (about a block or so from the field), which was quite crowded. Being wine enthusiasts, we decided to try to get in. Fortunately, there were a couple of seats at the bar, which we quickly took.

What a find. Terrific wine list, with many reasonably priced options and an excellent selection of wines by the glass. The menu was not extensive, but each item looked interesting. The salads (W&G and a Caesar) were so crisp and fresh that we suspect the ingredients were growing that morning at a nearby farm. The seared Tuna was beautifully done and also very fresh.

A word about the staff. Despite the very crowded atmosphere due to the ballgame, the staff clicked off their duties with a remarkable efficiency and pleasant demeanor. Special recognition goes to Michelle and Leslie. We also admire a young man whose name escapes me (something like “E”) who tended the wine bar, churning out order after order while maintaining great rapport with the crowd. We also met quite a few patrons at the bar who seemed to be enjoying a similar experience.

The W&G was one of several restaurants we patronized on a week-long trip to the Cincinnati area. It is hands down the best meal we had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JTMWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
300 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great food, wine and service...but got food poisoning”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I loved everything about this restaurant...until we got food poisoning 2 hours after our meal. We suspect the meat ball appetizer, which we both had.

If you can look past that issue, though, the wine was wonderful and the food was very good and quite wine-friendly and the service was personable and attentive.

If you like your wine on the more serious side (dry), you'll find the Italian red flight and Cabernet Sauvignon flight more to your liking. Although, the general reds flight was still enjoyable.

We would have ranked their food higher, but the food poisoning problem caused us to reduce our rating.
We did try to call and ask for a manager to report the food poisoning, but were put on hold and then our call was lost both times we called, so we messaged from Facebook, but

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank magsdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spicy shrimp pasta & flights are awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We are regular patrons of WG Kitchen in Rookwood and Princeton. The spicy shrimp pasta, scallops and wine flights are all great. Used groupons before and go back often. Great service but no reservations so get there by 6:15 on Saturdays.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Don_Coleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great experience, wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We visited the restaurant because we had a coupon, but we will definitely be back. We had a wonderful server and the food was absolutely amazing. We also did wine flights, which was fun and different, and a great compliment to our meal. I had the grilled chicken salad, and it did not disappoint. It was enormous! Not to mention extremely tasty and fresh. My husband got a tortellini dish with chicken and tomatoes, and he also enjoyed that. We got the anitipasti to start, and it was really different and fabulous. It included grilled vegetables, couscous, prosciutto, bread and an abundant amount of olives (which we loved). And, they give you pita bread and a sun-dried tomato cream cheese dip as a complimentary starter. Really yummy! Like I said, we'd definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amethyst198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food & Wine Experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our first visit to the WG Kitchen in downtown Cincinnati but definitely not our last. Busy but charming restaurant with an emphasis on wine tasting. Offers "flights" so you can try several different wines for the price of a bottle. We opted for a Chianti that was on the menu and it was smoother than most and complimented our meal well.

I had the potato crusted Mahi Mahi which was absolutely delicious and beautifully presented. Hubby had lamb shanks which he said were also very good. Piece de resistance for me however was a chocolate "lava" cake, which sorta sounded cheesy but boy was it divine. Highly recommend to any serious chocolate lovers

Nick was our server and he had a lot to do with why we had such a great experience. Thanks!

By the way, chose this restaurant because of a Groupon and some good reviews, so even got a great deal to boot!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bdalolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Guy Bistro also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing