We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Vietnamese in Ohio so far!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pho Lang Tang

Pho Lang Tang
Ranked #66 of 1,952 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Vietnamese in Ohio so far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We've been to Viet Nam in the past five years, so we know what real Vietnamese food is like. This is Vietnamese! The iced coffee is to die for! The Bahn Mi and Pho is fantistic! The best thing is that the restaurant has vegetarian options. Pho Lang Tang is a must when we visit Cincinnati!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rkbush27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    26
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
90 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good Viatnamese and a bit trendy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

I've been to Pho Lang four or five times. It's located at Findlay market and does brisk business for weekday lunches and on weekends. At the moment (2/2012) I'd consider it one of the trendy 'foodie' hot spots in the city.

I typically get the Pho (excellent) or a bahn mi sandwich (very good also). The fresh spring rolls are above average as well. Both the pho and the sandwiches offer a number of options (different meats, etc.) ranging from the standard to a bit more exotic (tendon, head cheese, etc.).

A sandwich or large order of pho runs about seven bucks, very affordable.

I really like the food, but be warned that it doesn't have a lot of seating and it can get somewhat loud.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SuperDave41042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pho Lang Thang ( "free-spirited") noodle place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

Pho Lang Thang is a Vietnamese restaurant located in historic Findlay Market. The back walls are decorated with colorful photos of Vietnamese market scenes. Large windows let you enjoy all the American market scenes swirling around you. In the summer they put up a tent outside with tables and benches. Dine in, carry-out, or have your food delivered by bicycle, you will be delighted with fresh ingredients, tasty at a very inexpensive price. My favorite is Pho Bo-- a bowl of lean tender pieces of steak perfectly cooked in tasty broth with fresh bean sprouts. You are served a plate of sliced peppers, limes, cilantro and mixed greens to season as you like. I also recommend a black sesame and rice paper bowl piled high with chicken salad. They offer beer, Da-Chanh Vietnamese limeade, coconut juice or Ca Phe-Den Da Vietnamese-stype drip iced coffee. One caution--meatballs have a processed flavor. That won't stop me from returning often.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CincinnatiDowntowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
135 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“I don't think Vietnamese food can get much better, or be more authentic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

I sent Trip Advisor a note about Pho Lang Thang a few months ago. This little restaurant is easily one of the BEST DEALS in the Cincinnati area. We started eating here last year after our daughter, who lives about 6 blocks away, recommended it to us.
For you visitors to the Cincinnati area, this restaurant is very easy to find because it is located at Findlay Market (which is on the list of top places to visit while in Cincinnati) and the food here is very, very good. The spring rolls (not fried) and the Bahn Mi sandwiches are out of this world. One piece of advice I will offer you is that Pho Lang Thang does not have a liquor license, but you are more than welcome to bring in bottles of wine, beet, etc., to enjoy with your meal. I saw one large table of about 8-10 young people enjoying a meal with communal 1.5 liter bottles of wine. What a fun and inexpensive nightt out! Over the Rhine is becoming one of the best places in Cincinnati for great restaurants, wonderful food stores, terrific shopping and excellent theater.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RMCINCINNATI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Viet Namese Food in the 'Nati”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

I have been eating at this restaurant for some time & was shocked to find there was no TA listing. This bare bones eatery serves excellent food & should be on everyone's list. The location is in Findlay Market. The ambience is bare bones but the food is tasty & inexpensive. The fresh eggrolls are delicious. The buns are terrific. The VN coffee is dead on. Many people ordering the Phos and banh mihs. I LOVE THIS PLACE!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ninewinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Lang Tang also viewed

 

Been to Pho Lang Tang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing