We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable and next to shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hannaford Inn & Suites
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
lisa2travel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Clean, Comfortable and next to shopping”
Reviewed September 23, 2008

This is my second time staying at the hannaford. Loved the omelet bar which i believe they didn't have the last time i was here. The rooms are spacious and have a great fitness room. But overall its next to the mall so I love it!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lisa2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    135
    38
    19
    9
See reviews for
186
100
27
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston WV
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2008

The Hannaford had some good points, and I'll list them first. It was clean, and in a quiet part of town. It was next to a nice shopping mall. It had plenty of free parking. The hotel was tastefully decorated and smelled good. The wi-fi was free and fast. The complimentary breakfast was good, and features made-to-order omelettes. The bedding was comfortable and clean.

The bad points were as follows: There was only one ice machine for all three floors. The single elevator was slow. The room we booked as a suite was not really a suite as the sleeping area was not separated from the living area by anything other than floor space. The "gift shop" was a vending machine with disposable razors and laundry detergent in it.

Now the weird points: (Read only if you believe in spooks. . .)

The Hannaford was creepy. I have stayed in a lot of hotels. No previous hotel rivaled the Hannaford for rustling, banging, creaking, thumping spooky noises. All night long. Occasionally I even heard what sounded like screaming. And more than once it sounded like something or someone was brushing up against our carefully locked door. I'd look out the peephole and nothing human was there. In addition, there was something indefineably creepy about some of the employees. And no, I am not exaggerating. Maybe I've read too many Stephen King novels, but even my travelling companion, not a King reader, commented the Hannaford reminded her of The Overlook.

Fortunately, it had no topiary animals.

  • Liked — clean and it smelled good
  • Disliked — It reminded me of The Overlook Hotel in "The Shining"
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bricksclick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

We were totally pleased with the Hannaford Suites. The suite was comfortable and clean, the staff was helpful, and the free breakfast omelets were delicious.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Luco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2008

Great hotel for business travelers. Rooms are spotless and good-sized, furniture, carpet, beds, and entire hotel looks brand new. Sheets & bedding are the good suff - not cheap or scratchy. No problems with high-speed internet connection and hotel is safe, away from inner-city but convenient to Cincinnati. Mall and many good restaurants nearby. Staff is terrific - owner gave up his room for me because I needed a non-smoking room.

The FREE breakfast now includes a made-to-order omelet station, along with danish, muffins, fruit, juice, coffee, cereal, etc.
Highway noise did not bother me at all and I am a light sleeper.
I highly recommend the Hannaford Suites.

  • Liked — Big, clean, safe room
  • Disliked — All was good !
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LauraIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed in Cincinnati for three nights over the New Year's holiday. This was the worst hotel of the three in which we stayed (the others being the Cincinnatian downtown and the Marriott RiverCenter in Newport (which was the best of the three)).

When we arrived at the hotel at around 11 AM, we went to the check-in desk. There was a mop on the floor in front of the desk and a Hispanic gentleman behind the desk. We could not understand what he was saying to us...he picked up the telephone and called the person whom I presume to be the front desk receptionist. She came down in five minutes while my girlfriend and I wondered what we had gotten ourselves into.

Check in then went...smoothly. After the housekeeping (?) gentleman removed his mop and sat down in the lobby.

The room was fine. Nothing special. A VERY small bathroom, though. Tiny small. The bed was fine. Fairly comfortable.

The location is excellent for going to Kenwood Towne Center and the surrounding area. It is very quiet, on a side road, with "sneak-in" access to the mall. Unfortunately, the mall was so crowded we could find nowhere to park! Can you believe that?!? So, we just went across the street to the bookstore. I'd never witnessed a mall so busy. This was on December 30!

When we arrived back to the hotel, there was a different receptionist "working". Actually, she was sitting on the couch with what I presume to be her somewhat scary-looking thugish boyfriend. Pretty unprofessional.

Then. at around 4 AM were were woken by someone SCREAMING, "Anyone?", "Hello?" for at least 15 minutes NON-STOP. Apparently the front desk had been abandoned. We were two rooms down from the desk, so the screaming was pretty loud to have wakened us. That was pretty scary.

We left as soon as we could the next day, never to return. The price was average, the hotel was average. I'm not sure why we'd ever go back given the poor service.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The front desk staff was very unprofessional.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishTeacher32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2007

I travel to Cincinnati every year to visit family for Thanksgiving. This year we tried the Hannaford..I have to admit there were concerns regarding the reviews I read about the noise from the freeway. I have to admit, our room was on that side of the hotel, and my family had no issues at all. This hotel is TOP notch, you will not find anything else like this unless you go downtown and pay 250 a night. Great Staff! Great Rooms! Great Hotel! Will definately stay again!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2TravelTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maineville, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

have stayed here on several occasions.
great location. walking distance to shopping mall / many restaurants.
great front desk staff.

only minus is - make sure you get a room on the parking lot side, and not facing the interstate.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Neilbond007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#9 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,257 reviews
Central Business District
Millennium Cincinnati
Millennium Cincinnati
#39 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hannaford Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hannaford Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Hannaford Inn & Suites
Address: 5900 E Galbraith Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45236-2252 (Formerly Hannaford Suites Hotel Cincinnati)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#9 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Hannaford Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hannaford Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hannaford Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hannaford Hotel
Best Western Plus Hannaford Inn & Suites Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing