We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Eastgate
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Cincinnati
New Jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Agree with previous review but for somewhat different reasons.

Hotel hallway smelled of smoke; did get non-smoking room. After putting our stuff in room, left for family event and did not return till late. On returm, tried to schedule a wake-up call but phones (2) did not work, so I called hotel, explained (no one available to fix) and asked that my cell be called in morning. It was late - clock radio blinking and did not want to go to time and trouble to figure that out. We were told that a prior stayer had probably unhooked the phone line to connect to a computer but why isn't this part of standard room check when preparing for next guest?

Next morning, did not get wakeup call. I spoke to manager and he stated that he called my cell phone and got voice mail, then sent someone up to knock on door but we did not hear any knock, and my cell phone showed no answered or missed calls. Then, the hair dryer in bathroom did not work (told at desk likely that circuit breaker needed to be reset - but why was that not checked before we arrived?.

Room itself fine, with all standard amenities. AC quiet and worked well. Bed comfortable (did not like pillows but that is personal preference), had couch and good size desk / plenty of storage space, and room did not smell of smoke. Nice flat screen TV. Breakfast, which featured eggs and sausage in addition to standards (including waffle maker) was better than average, and lady who attended the breakfast room very nice and efficient.

Parking appeared to be limited - spaces tight. Location is fine - near lots of store and restaurants; convenient. And ice maker on our floor was broken.

I think someone should be checking to ensure all is ready (phone, electricity in bathroom) is ready between guests and that is not being done. Giving a middle rating cause if that issue is addressed, this would be a good choice for east site of Cincinnati.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    36
    23
    13
    15
See reviews for
47
28
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
144 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We made a reservation weeks ago with the specification that we would have a non-smoking room. Arriving late on Saturday night, we heard the person at the desk give away our non-smoking room to the person checking in ahead of us because he made a huge deal (rightfully so) that he was promised a non-smoking room. When we got to the desk, the gentleman at the desk was clearly flustered and suggested we stay somewhere else because they have no smoking rooms. Being that it was nearly 10 at night and we were checking out at 6 the next morning, we decided to check out the smoking room. The smell was there, not terrible. However, the hall on the floor stunk of smoke and there are both smoking and non-smoking rooms on the floor. The rooms are acceptable at best and we came home with luggage that smelled like smoke. Breakfast was fine. Overall, disappointing and we have another reservation this week that I plan to cancel and find somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Get there early or the room you requested will likely be gone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cincinnati hotels

Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I made reservations at this Comfort Inn for a non-smoking, handicap room three months before our arrival. We knew we would be arriving late in the evening, but the room was guaranteed with our c/c and we've never had a problem with that before. However, upon arriving, we found that our room had been given away and they could only offer us a smoking room. When asked why we had no room, we were told that they were overbooked and didn't have enough non-smoking rooms to go around, so it was first come-first serve. The man at the desk tried very hard to give us a room he thought would work, and due to the lateness of the time we gave it a shot, but after sleeping with a splitting sinus headache and wheezing all night, we checked out the next morning and went to another hotel. As an Elite Diamond Choice Privileges member, I am most disappointed with this hotel. I would not ever trust them again for honoring a reservation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieD072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate, Michigan
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Our high school team tried to stay at this hotel. We made reservations for multiple rooms with individual confirmation numbers - on pages that said "your credit card will be charged if you do not cancel this room" When we finally tried to confirm the rooms we found out that we had multiple reservations for the same room with different confirmation numbers. If you are in a group and you want to stay here, be sure you speak with someone who knows what they are doing. "Mike" the current manager does not.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

It was a very nice clean hotel, comfortable rooms and quiet location. There were many children so it appeared to be family friendly. The staff was courteous and quick. The breakfast was good as well. Internet worked well during entire trip. Halls were clean and quiet. Elevator clean, staff very friendly. The only drawback is that the toilet paper was basically made of newsprint :) So bring your own T.P. Otherwise a very nice clean comfortable stay. Would stay there again, and would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauriessmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We had a soccer team stay at the Comfort Inn & Suites.
The staff and general manager were terrific to work with.
Breakfast offered good variety of options.
Basic accommodations. Nothing fancy but met our needs.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soccerisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, OH
Level Contributor
99 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I stay here regularly for business and the hotel staff never fail me. The hotel is clean and well stocked with everything you need. LOTS of restaurants, shopping and things to do nearby.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jean858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler_12246, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Eastgate, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
We wish to thank you for your feedback and are very happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Cincinnati Eastgate
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cincinnati Eastgate
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Cincinnati-Eastgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Cincinnati North-Mason
2.2 mi away
Best Western Clermont
Best Western Clermont
#17 of 50 in Cincinnati
289 reviews
19.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Forest Park
Comfort Suites Forest Park
#27 of 50 in Cincinnati
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Eastgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Eastgate

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Eastgate
Address: 4421 Aicholtz Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45245-1527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Eastgate 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites Eastgate hotel near Eastgate Mall. Enjoy a wealth of amenities in a convenient location when choosing the Comfort Inn & Suites in Cincinnati, OH. We are ideally located off of Interstate 275 near many of the area's top attractions, which include: Eastgate Mall Cinergy Field Paul Brown Stadium King's Island Amusement ParkGet refreshed in our inviting guest rooms, all of which feature cable televisions, hair dryers, coffee makers, wake-up services, irons and ironing boards. Additional amenities include: Free wireless high-speed Internet access Indoor heated pool Free coffee Free newspaper weekdaysYour Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!Take care of basic business needs with access to copy and fax services, and for added convenience, free parking is available onsite.Make your reservation today at the Comfort Inn & Suites in Cincinnati, OH for a memorable stay in a great location, all at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Eastgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Cincinnati
Comfort Inn Cincinnati
Cincinnati Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites Eastgate Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing