We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time But Not The Last” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tony's Of Cincinnati

Tony's Of Cincinnati
12110 Montgomery Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45249-1731
15136771993
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tony's Of Cincinnati is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 1,878 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fields Ertel
United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First Time But Not The Last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had been meaning to try the new Tony's after hearing so many good things, but it seemed our schedule never worked out. Last night we made a special effort as it was our 7th anniversary, and we weren't disappointed. It is our understanding that Tony spent many years in the Jeff Ruby conglomerate, but it would appear the student has surpassed the master. We have eaten at both Jeff Ruby's downtown (entirely too many tables crowded together. I prefer choosing my own "elbow -to-elbow companions"), and Johnny and Carlo's (sloppy service, acceptable at McDonalds, but not a restaurant this expensive). We would rate Tony's superior in both food and service either. The wait staff was attentive without being obtrusive. The steaks were each done perfectly and per our requests. Both the manager and Tony himself came around to check on our progress and to see if we had any complaints of suggestions. All in all, we were very pleased and will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lanalee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    28
    16
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

In a town with a lot of steak venues, Tony's more than holds its own. Enjoy thoroughly their menu. All is well prepared, and the service is personal and superb, and not overly ostentatious. It has a low keyed pleasant ambience, making it a very comfortable place for a very good meal.

Helpful?
Thank ODFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maineville, OH
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“They really went out of their way to make our Anniversary great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I decided to treat ourselves to a great steak for our anniversary this year and wanted to try out Tony's.

We made reservations earlier that week and let them know it was for our 10th wedding anniversary. From the point we entered the door we were treated superbly! Everyone was very friendly and hostess, manager, waiter, and even the chef wished us well at some point that evening. I really felt like a "regular" that has been coming there weekly for years.

I ordered a Strip steak, and my wife had the fish special. My steak was cooked perfectly (med-rare is my choice) and the flavor was fantastic! My wifes fish came out moist and flavorful. Unlike many places that like to drown the fish in some special sauce, hers allowd the fish to be the main ingredient. It did have a hint of a herb-butter sauce to bring out the flavors! We had the asparagus, and au gratin potatoes for sides and they too were quite tasty!

If you are looking for a nice fine dining experience, you can't go wrong checking out this place.

Thank you all at Tony's for the memorable evening!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scooter74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Hosted a company party here. Everything from beginning to end was top notch. Raw bar appetizers, salads, entrees (mostly steaks and seafood), and homemade cannoli for dessert. Fantastic jazz musicians. Great attentive service by Kevin. The owner stopped by several times and went out of his way to accommodate special needs. In a city known for excellent food, Tony's is among the best. Hard to top it!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary Lou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Steak and Fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Business dinner with group of approx. 20 people in a private dining room. Absolutely excellent steak and perfect shrimp and oysters to start. Great ambiance and very knowledgeable staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neildyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's Of Cincinnati also viewed

 

Been to Tony's Of Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing