We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect meal with perfect service”

Jean-Robert's Table
Reserve with OpenTable
Jean-Robert's Table is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 1,969 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 7th and Vine Streets
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A perfect meal with perfect service”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I took a few friends here on our one night off from work, hoping to have a great high end French meal with impeccable service, and that is exactly what we got. We had such a hard time deciding what to order, as everything looked amazing. Everything was fresh, in season, cooked perfectly, filled with flavor, etc..The wines were great, the food was rich, the portions perfect. Our server gave us such great advice on what to order and pair with what...We just had a perfect night out at in impeccable restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisondra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    58
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We made reservations for 5:30 p.m., prior to our 8 p.m. curtain for the Shakespeare Theatre performance on Saturday night (fabulous, by the way!). Very, very accommodating restaurant that gave us attentive but not rushed service. The meals were simply outstanding. I have never tasted roast chicken as moist or flavorful. The bread, the butter, the desserts...c'est bon! We would eat here again in a flash.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Terrific Food in a welcoming environment”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

JR's Table is one of the top restaurants in Cincinnati and deservedly so. The French cuisine is prepared to the highest standard - all fresh ingredients painstakingly prepared by Chef Jean-Robert and his talented staff. The ambiance is comfortable, not flashy and fussy. The staff is attentive without being intrusive.

Most importantly, it is a good value. We've been there many times and the average food cost per person is about $50. This is an incredibly value for the quality of the food and experience.

Chef Jean-Robert is a legend in Cincinnati for having trained almost all the top chefs in the city. And, fir being an incredibly strong supporter of community events.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelRichC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
421 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 493 helpful votes
“JEAN-ROBERT'S IS A CINCINNATI TREASURE”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Because nostalgia for Maisonette runs rampart in Cincinnati, comparisons to Jean-Robert's is misplaced and unwarranted. Jean-Robert's is a bistro, not a 3 star Michelin contender. The restaurant is representative of the bistronomy movement that is taking over Paris and Jean-Robert's is an incredible dining experience when taken within this context. Formality is out and casual fine dining is in. Any city, including Paris, New York, and San Francisco would love to have such classic and innovative French cooking in their midst. Jean-Robert is a master in the kitchen and his staff provides service with warmth and a smile. We choose to sit at the bar when we eat, as the tone and ambiance of the restaurant lends itself to a kind of gourmet "Cheers," if you will. (Sitting at the bar reminds us of the two star L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon in Paris where diners sit at a counter within sight of the open kitchen) Jean-Robert steps away from the stoves intermittently during service, shaking hands, greeting, and making sure his patrons are pleased and happy. This is not an absentee celebrity chef. Jean-Robert is a modern, creative chef, but he does not ignore the classics. His calves liver, onions and garlic mashed potatoes transport me to Paris every time and this dish is too difficult to sometimes avoid. However, we have tried many items from his menu and have enjoyed almost all of them. Remember, all good chefs experiment, and as often portrayed on "Top Chef," not all flavors match everyone's palate. The perfect restaurant for every person does not exist. I am thankful that Cincinnati has such great dining within a few blocks of downtown. Jean-Robert's stands as a little bit of Paris in the Queen City. It is to be treasured and deserves a much better rating on TripAdvisor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonhope
Level Contributor
148 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great lunch place!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The food is very good here. The fish and pork dishes we're phenomenal. I had the special omelette- nice and perfectly cooked. I can't stop talking about their French fries- top 5 best ever served!! Nice bread with meal, superb service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank moonhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jean-Robert's Table also viewed

 

Been to Jean-Robert's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing