We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Country French in Downtown Cincinnati” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jean-Robert's Table

Jean-Robert's Table
Reserve with OpenTable
Jean-Robert's Table is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 1,878 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 7th and Vine Streets
Level Contributor
296 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent Country French in Downtown Cincinnati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Jean-Robert is a very talented chef, and his French Restaurant a few blocks north of Fountain Square reflects his Gaelic Heritage. A set daily menu with the standard continental entrees is always supplemented with a number of starter and main course specials. You cannot miss with his onion soup, his version of a croque and an excellent chateau burger. The salmon was very good and a veal slices special was tasty. This is the place for French in the Queen City. A small wine list fairly priced. Valet parking in the evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HazardBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    48
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

A dear friend of mine (a highly respected food critic) recommended that I visit Chef Jean-Robert's newest restaurant, Table. How lovely in every way. My Mom & I had an amazing lunch, the service was impeccable, and the atmosphere was very "country" French. Every course was beautifully executed and the flavors extraordinaire. I highly recommend a visit, hope to enjoy a dinner there when I next return to Cincinnati. Easy access off 71, parking lot right next door.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stephanieamberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best place around!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went to this restaurant for the first time last night. I love French food and spend a lot of time in France.

The food, particularly the appetizers and the trout special, was delicious. I put together a meal of appetizers, which are quite large portions. The 'mussels 3 ways' appetizer and the morel mushroom appetizer were great. The lobster salad was beautifully presented and a perfect creation (but the homage to the Reds with a 'crackerjacks and peanuts' finish was a rare misstep).

The best part of this meal was that classical sauces were presented at the table by the waiter, who then left them at the table. The food was created in more fresh, healthy ways than the old classically french recipes offer. The bill for two, with a tip, came to $165.

Note that the wines by the glass are nothing special, but they were fine. We sat in a both by the window, which was roomy and comfortable. The dress code seemed to be somewhat dressed up, but not to any extreme. Summer dresses, no jeans or shorts.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cameliah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
313 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“The Maisonette Redux (Step Back in Time)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

For 41 years The Maisonette on 6th street in downtown Cincinnati was the highest rated restaurant (5 star)in the country. I was disappointed to find out during my recent staying downtown Cincinnati that The Maisonette closed in 2005. Unfortunately, a victim of changing eating habits of Americans to a more casual dining experience.
The good news is that the executive chef of The Maisonette opened his own restaurant a short distance from the old restaurant and close to all the major hotels downtown. It's named after himself, Jean-Roberts Table.
It's more casual than his former restaurant, but still serves excellent French cuisine. I ordered the country trio (pork belly, braised short ribs and Au Poivre) and it all melted in my mouth.
The service was great and the atmosphere was excellent. The art work (for purchase) was very interesting.
The only downside to the Jean-Roberts was the wine list. It was very pricey. But, then again, the whole meal (for 2) ran about $200.
But if you want to know what the "golden age" of restaurants were like in Cincinnati, go to Jean-Robert's Table. (reservation suggested)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mayoplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
211 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Had lunch here. We shared the “daily” omlette and the Poached Ruby Trout BLT sandwich. Both were excellent. The accompanying French fries were outstanding. The finishing coffee and espresso were very good too.
Great service, location and atmosphere. We don’t like "chain" restaurants, so this was a great find. Shame we only stayed one day. Would have loved to try dinner here as the wine list was extensive. Not too pricey and worth it. Total cost including a 20% tip, without drinks, $45.00

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bariatricrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jean-Robert's Table also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Jean-Robert's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing