We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“fun with food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jean-Robert's Table

Jean-Robert's Table
Reserve with OpenTable
Jean-Robert's Table is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 1,944 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 7th and Vine Streets
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
126 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“fun with food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had a wonderful, romantic meal. The food was glorious. I started with the stuffed squab wrapped in pastry. The pastry was perfect and the squab was something I have never had but loved the rich, gamey flavor. My wife had the oxtail ravioli which we had read was a top dish. It was very good, but the pasta was not perfect (a little dry). The entrees were amazing combination of flavors. The duck, like the squab, was perfectly prepared. The short ribs were very good. I especially enjoyed the pairing with figs, wilted greens, and squash. For dessert, my wife had the creme brûlée which was very good. I had the Napoleon with strawberries. The dark chocolate gelato was good, but the rest needed more cream.

High point:
- every dish was paired with a reduction sauce.
- the pairing of flavors in each dish was excellent
-presentation

not so good
- deserts - few options and not great
- service -ok but not great. no personality, slow, I expect more at a great restaurant
-wines by the glass - not good
- Absinthe -I wanted to see the preparation but it was done at the bar and not at the table.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bmantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    55
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“My favorite in Cincinnati”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

John Robert opened this restaurant in order to be a bit less "high end" than his Pigall's restaurant was. While the prices have dropped a bit, I would say the food is still just as wonderful and well prepared as it was in Pigalls. The decor of the restaurant is so inviting and cozy, it's really gorgeous. The service is very attentive and knowledgable (interesting that most of his PIgall's staff followed him here, tells a lot about him). The food is basically French, but not complicated. I would say that the only thing that doesn't always hit the spot with me is the desserts. They are good, but they don't always match the excellence of the main meal. J-R is a huge asset to Cincinnati and I hope he will always stay around.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Les68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lorie M”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Table has good food, immaculate presentation, excellent service and a lovely downtown location and the owner/chef has an impeccable reputation

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lorie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have eaten here three times and have enjoyed my meal each time. I had eaten four or five times at his old place, Jean-Ro's Bistro, and also liked that. The food in this place is similar, but a little more tricked out. The service has been very good. I'm not so keen on the paintings in the dining room. I liked the decor and high ceilings in the old place better, but I can understand that this time he might have preferred not to do a fake French bistro but something original.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Irgendwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Authentic French cuisine, at very affordable price !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Jean-Robert is a true French man, who did his cuisine classes in best French resturants. His carte is very fine cuisine, with French specialties (snails, frogs legs, etc.) and more international dishes. Very gourmet. Service friendly and effective. Warm and nice atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FabianLoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jean-Robert's Table also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Jean-Robert's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing