We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best French Food Since I was in Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jean-Robert's Table

Jean-Robert's Table
Reserve with OpenTable
Jean-Robert's Table is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 1,878 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 7th and Vine Streets
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best French Food Since I was in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Who would have thought that one would find superb French cuisine in downtown Cincinnati? The quality of the ingredients and the preparation was superb. Fresh and superbly seasoned salads and soups and attentive service. Flawless.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank moudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    48
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
95 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“When you are in the mood for high end new dishes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

All the dishes are highly creative. Ate their twice months ago, a little pricey for more frequent visits, but will return some day. Asked server for recommendations, and hit the bulls-eye.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveHereNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
178 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Well-executed dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I’m one of those persons who believes that less is more when it comes to gourmet dining, but because we had such exquisite meals at Jean-Robert’s former restaurants during our infrequent trips to Cincinnati, I decided to overlook the lengthy list of ingredients provided in the menu descriptions and in the waiters’ description of the evening specials. I knew we were in the hands of a creative Master Chef here. Every ingredient mentioned is used with discretion, and it all works superbly well together. My spouse was very pleased with his Sweetbreads entrée and his main course of duck breast with cabbage, figs and red wine reduction. His only complaint was that some of the pieces of duck were very tender, while others were rather tough & chewy. I opted for a daily special of shrimp salad. This molded salad was served atop a foundation of celeriac puree. The molded mini-tower had shredded red carrots & red cabbage on the bottom, topped with a few shrimp and some radish sprouts and served with citrus vinaigrette. It was as beautiful as it was tasty. My main course included three tender sea scallops around a bit of creamy risotto, topped with diced, roasted root vegetables and a little Swiss chard. A sauceboat of cider cream sauce was poured over the plate at the table. We don’t usually eat dessert, but we couldn’t resist it here and opted for the Chocolate Budino with chestnut mousse. It was just the way I like my desserts – not sweet & rich and in a civilized-sized serving. I was also delighted to see that they even had a glass of Banyuls on the wine list to go with this lovely chocolate dessert. The wine list was small, but extremely well chosen. There was also a nice choice of bourbons, Scotch, cognac & dessert wines by the glass. Food was exquisite and service was excellent and not rushed even though we had to vacate the table in two hours. We had plenty of time for cocktails, three courses and after dinner drinks. Our tab was close to $150, including tip, 2 cocktails, 2 glasses of wine, 2 after dinner drinks.

This is a busy, popular place, so make reservations a week or more in advance. The restaurant has 2-hour seatings, starting at 5:30 pm.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Souris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were celebrating a special family birthday and were looking for a special place. The ambience was very nice as was the service. After reading other reviews I expected we might have a long wait for our meals but the time was not unusually long for what we ordered. We ordered two appetizers and one wine. The appetizers and wine were fine . We ordered Pork (three little pigs I think it was called) the Skate fish wings and scallops and duck. The duck was fine and the scallops were nothing great but presented very nicely. The Skate was good but they poured a very salty dressing over the fish at the table instead of letting you do it yourself. It overpowered the dish to our liking and made it a very average meal. The pork was absolutely inedible. It was 9/10 fat and it was traded to three people at the table and no one could eat it including my wife who would eat an old shoe and not complain. We split a recommended choclate dessert that was not on the menu and it also was dry, hard and something that just was not first or second class. They never asked us how our meal was, so we did not complain. We tipped a full 20% because the service was okay but will just choose to find another restaurant in the future. It was more or less average food at a little over average prices but the zinger was a meal delivered to the table that should have been obvious to any chef, Jean Robert or anyone that cooks that this was not an edible piece of meat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nitro4les
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful service, great food, fair price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We took our daughter and friends to dinner for her birthday. Our group of six had drinks, wine, hors d'oeuvres, salad, entre and even some desserts and the total bill was still under $500. The service was extraordinary, accomodating but inobtrusive. The food was very good--not especially unique but very well prepared and delicious. (The menu is ala carte.) For an upscale feel with a moderate price, this is a great choice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GlennaWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jean-Robert's Table also viewed

 

Been to Jean-Robert's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing