We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Really good food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Poste - CLOSED

La Poste
Price range: $30 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ludlow
Description: Strolling the ever-energetic and eclectic streets of Clifton's Gaslight District, you will find our expansive and bright wall of windows just around the corner from the Esquire Theater. We are located on Telford Street in one of Cincinnati's most vibrant neighborhoods speckled with unique shops and galleries. Valet parking is available for your convenience. Friendly greetings and the heavenly aromas of Chef Andrew Mersmann's fare are waiting for you...
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
242 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Really good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I went here for Valentine's Day. I had never even heard of it before trying to find something different for dinner. The food was absolutely fantastic. We had two of the salads, followed by some excellent mussels with a broth that I wanted to gulp down. I had the duck breast for my entree and my wife had the risotto. The duck breast was cooked perfectly. The root vegetable puree and faux gras sauce were great accompaniments. Our service was top notch. The tables were spaced out nicely so other conversations didn't interrupt ours.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skline2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    27
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cold Spring, Kentucky
Level Contributor
109 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I had never heard of La Poste before eating here with my Mom back in February. It was definitely one of the better meals I've had in the city of Cincinnati though. Everything was great, from the service to the food and to the wine, it was definitely a very good meal. Our server helped us figure out what we wanted to order and even had me try a meal that I wouldn't have normally ate and it ended up being absolutely amazing. I would recommend this place to couples or friends for an intimate, nice dinner out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katy2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A Clifton Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Thank goodness this place is in Clifton so we can get away from Indian food for a moment. It is a beautiful restaurant, the service is excellent and attentive without being overbearing, the wine list is superb, and the food is extremely well prepared. I've never been disappointed at La Poste, neither has anyone I know.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Les68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great menu, food, service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went to La Poste prior to our playhouse in the park show. We told the server upon arriving that we needed to be out of there by 7:30. It was only 6pm. We promptly ordered after looking over the diverse and very interesting menu, and great specials. We received a free appetizer prior to our orders. However our main meals took a long time. It was after 7pm when we reminded the server of our timeline. We just didn’t want to have to rush through eating our meals. That said, the meals came out and everyone ate everything on their plates. We also received a free dessert that was to DIE for. Overall, I’d say this was a pleasant experience and we’ll go back to sample some other dishes.

I also wanted to note, that while I gave this a ($$$$), I ordered two appetizers for my meal and that was really inexpensive, but the main dishes are all over $25, with the specials at $40.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“V day in 5 courses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

The special valentine day 5 courses menu, was how a 5 courses menu should always be. We travelled through 5 plates, surprising our palates, beautifully presented, with an exceptional selection of wine pairing.
The restaurant is divided in two sections, with one which is much more private and romantic than the other..

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertJambon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Poste also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing