We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Expensive, but divine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Poste - CLOSED

La Poste
Price range: $30 - $31
Cuisines: American, International, Mediterranean, Contemporary, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ludlow
Description: Strolling the ever-energetic and eclectic streets of Clifton's Gaslight District, you will find our expansive and bright wall of windows just around the corner from the Esquire Theater. We are located on Telford Street in one of Cincinnati's most vibrant neighborhoods speckled with unique shops and galleries. Valet parking is available for your convenience. Friendly greetings and the heavenly aromas of Chef Andrew Mersmann's fare are waiting for you...
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive, but divine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is a MUST try in Cincinnati. If you love fine dining then this place is for you. My husband and I ordered the "tasting" menu and everything was delicious. It was a great way to try a little of everything. The ravioli was my favorite and the bread pudding was to die for. It is definitely on the pricey side, but well worth it if you are foodies like us. The wine selection/service is also amazing!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mitts11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    26
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Fabulous, but expensive, food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Food is superb. Great beer list. BUT, by far the most expensive beer in the city. A decent Pale Ale from Founders will run you 8 bucks, and anything from the bottle list you're looking at 20+. Great if you got the cash. Service superb as well.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
180 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Truly outstanding restaurant in Clifton -- and a new favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I recently had dinner at this restaurant, my first time there under this incarnation, and I was extremely impressed. The menu is creative and interesting, and the food was extraordinarily well prepared. The restaurant is very well staffed, and service is attentive, friendly, and effective. The wine list is great, and sommeliers are available to help choose.

Overall, this place rapidly has become one of my top-three favorites in Cincinnati.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My two sisters and I visited this restaurant in the Clifton's Gaslight District on Oct. 1, 2012. Our experience was so special that we returned on the following night. We were staying at a nearby bed and breakfast and the owner said we could not go wrong with this restaurant. She was right. Every dish we ordered was excellent. Our servers were knowledgeable, friendly and solicitous. Each question and request was attended to in a wonderful way. Standout dishes included the chicken liver pate, mixed green salad, crimson pear salad, pork shank, and a fresh regional fish dish. The sommelier was very helpful and the wine was fabulous.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonesy0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have only dined here for lunch, but each time was a good experience. The lunch menu offers main selections and side selections. One price if you choose only a main dish, slightly more if you choose both a main and a side. The items are not individually priced. Very simple, as is the decor. The service is friendly and efficient, the food is well prepared and pleasingly plated. The wine list offers plenty of reasonable choices by the glass or bottle. It is on the upscale side for Clifton dining, but the prices are reasonable. Recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank raygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Poste also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing