We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Another Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have stayed here several times and are never disappointed. The staff is wonderful and friendly. We used our Marriott points, called the day before to get a great view as promised last time and we were upgraded to a corner suite. So spacious! We arrived a little early, but only had to wait 10 minutes until our room was ready. Had a great view of the Ohio River and Newport. It snowed and Lytle Park across the street was beautiful at night. Ate dinner at the Phelps bar, got the wrong sandwich, but it was fixed quickly ( I've waited longer at places for the entree) Went back to the bar later for a snack- The homemade chips were to die for, made when order is place, they were hot and tasty- not at all soggy. Breakfast in the morning great as usual, check out easy, Valet guys are the best. We will return!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madonna_45432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    81
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
177
160
13
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brandenburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We are nearly always pleased with Residence Inns, but this is one of the best! The staff here are very friendly and they seem to sincerely try to make your visit delightful. The breakfast was very good with a wide selection of juices, yogurt, milks, bread offerings and VERY good kettle oatmeal! Our suite was quite clean and quiet on the 10th floor and we found the elevators to be quite satisfactory. We would love to stay here when it is warmer and we could enjoy the picturesque outdoor areas!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank KentuckyDerbyGirl270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed a few times in September due to our regular hotel a few blocks away being booked. Glad the other hotel was booked as we fell in love with this place. The real draw in my mind is the high level of service and can do attitude of all the staff we encountered. The property itself is pretty nice as well moderately historic with a park across the street. If you travel with pets they allow dogs which is cool. Great bar on premises too. I highly recommend and I spend about 100 nights a year in hotels... this one stood out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hocuspocus916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here several nights recently and found the Residence Inn to be a great spot to stay in the downtown area of Cincinnati. The staff was always attentive and helpful from the time we pulled up to the curb until we left. Even though they offer valet parking they gave us the option of parking on the street (much cheaper) as you can park for free from 5pm until 9am otherwise you can feed the meter. We had a one room suite which was perfect for three of us. If you want to cook meals in everything you need is provided..we didn't as there are so many great restaurants in the area! The room was clean and they provide maid service daily. A buffet breakfast is included which was better than any we've experienced at other hotels. We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Since the arrival moment up until departure, the staff was there to help with every little thing i needed: taxi, luggage, check on the pick-up for the airport. Great customer oriented attitude!
The room was very spacious, it included a kitchenette, very well equipped, the bed was very comfortable.
The location for the purpose of the trip was great - just 2 min away from the office, and also at the end of the day just a moment away from dropping off things before going out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lory_Vasile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here last year and the service, staff and food were great. We will definitely stay at this hotel again. The location was convenient and close enough to all of the attractions we visited. My husband is upset they are booked and we won't be able to stay again this year. If any rooms open for July 24th please contact the Jacksons.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridgett J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

The suites in the Residence Inn Downtown are fantastic. The rooms are clean, spacious and well equipped. The room we stayed in was a 2 room suite that had a kitchen. The kitchen had a full size refrigerator, which comes in handy if you're planning on doing any shopping, keeping beverages nice and cold or keeping leftovers. The living room is spacious and has a pull out sofa. The room slept 6 people (2 beds in the bedroom and the pullout). The bathroom was also very spacious, which is nice when you have 6 people sharing a room. The beds were super comfy and the we were very happy!

We actually stayed here during the Color Run 5k downtown and we were in need of extra towels and a good nap! The staff was very helpful and friendly and the rooms were perfect for afternoon naps! There is also a nice restaurant off the lobby with great cocktails. The food looked fabulous, but all we tried was the dessert and it was awesome!

The only potential drawback to this hotel is that it sits a little further east than many things downtown. We still walked most of the time, but I thought it was worth mentioning if you're used to staying closer to fountain square. That's definitely no reason not to stay here though, everything is a short cab ride away!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicsanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#4 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#11 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps

Property: Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Address: 506 E 4th St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-3303
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Phelps Building in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's business district, the all-new Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown offers Cincinnati hotel accommodations that blend old-world splendor with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown Hotel Cincinnati
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing