We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff make this a fab place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Staff make this a fab place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Mostly been said - the staff from valets, reception, chefs, breakfast staff make this a fantastic place to stay - sorry if I missed anyone! I have travelled a lot this year as a British travel agent and have not come across people who are so helpful and friendly because they want to be and not because it is their job - whatever you are doing in this establishment Marriott to make staff this happy keep on with it!!
Rooms clean, food excellent, friendly people - we only visited for a few days from UK as our son there for over 6 weeks - couldn't wish for him to be anywhere else when away from home. Thank you guys!
Special thanks to taxi driver John - not on Tripadvisor but a cool guy!
Small niggle would be keep check on room bill if pay cash at bar and Top of the Park as ask for room number but add to room - also new Manager needs to settle in!
Would def recommend to anyone - never considered this part of America - usually do Florida/ New York but my new favourite!
Thanks everyone!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DENISE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    68
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
145
127
7
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here a couple weekends ago and made use of more services than I normally do. While the hotel was very clean and the beds very comfortable it was the staff that really stood out. There were absolutely no service failures anywhere. The front desk went out of their way to track me down when I left something at the front desk, the catering staff refilled empty plates quickly and were consistently friendly, the breakfast bar staff was outstanding all around (in most places they seem to be the most beaten down staff memebers, not here), we even got a song. The bell staff was every helpful and friendly with cabs and transportation arangements, the bar staff made sure our needs were met, the rooms were completely clean. What more could I ask?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pontifex_Rex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

In Cincinnati for a wedding/ family reunion, the Residence Inn turned out to be a highlight. The rooms were spacious and the gathering places were comfortable. Like home, comfortable.
But what stands out is the professional yet genuinely friendly staff. What a nice change from the corporate-courteous personnel I usually find. I can't help but think that the Residence Inn is a good place to work. Unhappy employees tend to lose their humanity.
In my book, the excellent breakfast choices, comfortable well-designed rooms, location, and other amenities come in second to my feeling truly welcome.
Thanks to all at The Residence Inn and keep it up! My first choice in Cincinnati!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The "Top of the Park" lounge just opened and its very cool. Plenty of seating, heat lamps, appetizers and drinks. Beers are only $4 and win is reasonably priced. We had the BBQ sliders and chips w/ guacamole, both were very good. Only open 5:30-9:30 on Tuesdays and Thursdays, so get there early. Awesome view of the river, Mt. Adams, NKY and GABP.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasDruso, General Manager at Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our newest ammenity. Unbelievable views and a space that is truly unique to Cincinnati. It is open to the public on Tuesday and Thursday with live music featuring local guitar singer - songwriters. The rooftop lounge has residential seating, a firepit, communal table, and a full bar boasting craft cocktails, beer, and wine with a small plates menu. It is available for private events the rest of the week. Thank you again for a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
201 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a great place to stay in Cincinnati this is the place. I was in town for work and found this gem for a Marriott hotel. Everything was very clean, service was great and the rooms are very spacious. Close to all kinds of restaurants and the Bengals and Reds Stadiums.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasDruso, General Manager at Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for a great review and calling us home. We have a great team that truly loves taking care of people. This is an amazing property that will not let you down. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Everything was perfect. Sincere staff. Spotless, spacious room. Soothing decor. Beautiful entrance. The hotel bar was accommodating to our quite large family gathering after the Reds game. Great American Ballpark is an easy walk from here. We expect all of this from the Residence Inn and were quite pleased with our one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denisemariec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one weekend night in September. It's within a short walk of many restaurants and Great American Ballpark. All of the staff, from the valets to the front desk to the bar staff, were incredibly courteous. Our room was very spacious (this is typical for Residence Inns) and clean. It can be a bit noisy because the hotel is close to I471, but it wasn't a problem for us. You will enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjbernatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#3 of 51 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 stars 642 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 51 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 946 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#12 of 51 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 853 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps

Property: Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Address: 506 East 4th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Phelps Building in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's business district, the all-new Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown offers Cincinnati hotel accommodations that blend old-world splendor with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown Hotel Cincinnati
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing