We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Staff is the Frosting on the Cake” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Staff is the Frosting on the Cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

In Cincinnati for a wedding/ family reunion, the Residence Inn turned out to be a highlight. The rooms were spacious and the gathering places were comfortable. Like home, comfortable.
But what stands out is the professional yet genuinely friendly staff. What a nice change from the corporate-courteous personnel I usually find. I can't help but think that the Residence Inn is a good place to work. Unhappy employees tend to lose their humanity.
In my book, the excellent breakfast choices, comfortable well-designed rooms, location, and other amenities come in second to my feeling truly welcome.
Thanks to all at The Residence Inn and keep it up! My first choice in Cincinnati!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    83
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
186
165
13
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The "Top of the Park" lounge just opened and its very cool. Plenty of seating, heat lamps, appetizers and drinks. Beers are only $4 and win is reasonably priced. We had the BBQ sliders and chips w/ guacamole, both were very good. Only open 5:30-9:30 on Tuesdays and Thursdays, so get there early. Awesome view of the river, Mt. Adams, NKY and GABP.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasDruso, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our newest ammenity. Unbelievable views and a space that is truly unique to Cincinnati. It is open to the public on Tuesday and Thursday with live music featuring local guitar singer - songwriters. The rooftop lounge has residential seating, a firepit, communal table, and a full bar boasting craft cocktails, beer, and wine with a small plates menu. It is available for private events the rest of the week. Thank you again for a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
213 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a great place to stay in Cincinnati this is the place. I was in town for work and found this gem for a Marriott hotel. Everything was very clean, service was great and the rooms are very spacious. Close to all kinds of restaurants and the Bengals and Reds Stadiums.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasDruso, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for a great review and calling us home. We have a great team that truly loves taking care of people. This is an amazing property that will not let you down. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Everything was perfect. Sincere staff. Spotless, spacious room. Soothing decor. Beautiful entrance. The hotel bar was accommodating to our quite large family gathering after the Reds game. Great American Ballpark is an easy walk from here. We expect all of this from the Residence Inn and were quite pleased with our one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denisemariec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one weekend night in September. It's within a short walk of many restaurants and Great American Ballpark. All of the staff, from the valets to the front desk to the bar staff, were incredibly courteous. Our room was very spacious (this is typical for Residence Inns) and clean. It can be a bit noisy because the hotel is close to I471, but it wasn't a problem for us. You will enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjbernatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the amazing reviews we read on tripadvisor and I have to agree, this is hands down, the best hotel in Cincinnati! We had a minor issue with finding a place to park our trailer and every member of the hotel staff was quick to find a solution. In addition, the breakfast was amazing!!!

Room Tip: One bedroom rooms have amazing sound insulation from the rest of the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for one night and had a fantastic experience. Everyone was friendly and outgoing. They all went the extra mile to ensure that we were comfortable and well cared for during our stay. We were surprised to find out upon our arrival that we were given a complimentary upgrade to an Executive Suite-awesome! The hotel is located in a safe neighborhood with many restaurants and shops within walking distance. From the valets to the bartenders to the check-in staff, we could not have had any better service. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor. Noise from highways could be a problem for light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#4 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#11 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Address: 506 E 4th St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-3303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Phelps Building in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's business district, Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps is an extended-stay Cincinnati hotel that blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Come stay with us and enjoy our comfortable accommodations, whether you're traveling for business or for pleasure. Our Cincinnati extended-stay hotel is an all-suite hotel featuring free daily breakfast, a fitness center, complimentary Wi-Fi, a business center and meeting rooms, and an ideal location close to Downtown Cincinnati's top businesses and attractions. Great American Ballpark, Jack Cincinnati Casino, Duke Energy Convention Center, and more are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown Hotel Cincinnati
Residence Inn By Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing