We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families visiting Cincinnati.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great for families visiting Cincinnati.”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our family loved the 2 room suites plus a gorgeous bathroom & shower. Hotel is within walking distance if the Taft art museum, a park, Great American ballpark & Bengals games and lots of shopping. I wouldn't hesitate to book the king suite for my family of 4- there is plenty of room. The breakfast was fabulous w/ soy milk, Greek yogurts & delicious hot eggs & potatoes- additionally the restaurant menu was equally superb. Cheers to the hotels manager who does what's needed when needed!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tnapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    100
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
234
180
17
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My significant other and I stayed over the Labor Day weekend. We were debating between this property and some of the 4-5-star downtown hotels. We chose the Residence Inn based on the excellent review.

The suite was very spacious and very comfortable. It was nice and very convenient to have a separate living room area with kitchen. The furnishings were clean and modern, but not what I would call luxurious. It was nice to have a full set of dishware, although oddly the kitchenette had a sponge but did not have dish detergent. I also wished that they had a tea kettle (I called and asked but it was not available)

The bed was very comfortable and the double curtains kept out sunlight well in the mornings. The rooms were very quiet and we did not hear any hallway noise (we were on the 11th floor). Bathroom was again clean and comfortable but not luxurious. They use Paul Mitchell bath products.

The fitness center was nice, with LifeFitness machines and individual TV sets on the cardio machines. There is no swimming pool. Breakfast was ok - waffle maker, sausage patties, biscuits/gravy, scrambled eggs, yogurt/cereal. For some reason I thought there was an omelet station but they do not have one.

Overall, I would stay again if I had a family of multiple people or if I wanted to the convenience of extra space and a kitchen.

Room Tip: Request a quieter room - top floors are further away from bar noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaK143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Read all the reviews so decided to stay here when planning a weekend trip to Cinti for a football game and special dinner. We were truly impressed with the room, beautifully appointed with a great view and comfortable bed. Although quite busy, the breakfast was good and the attendants worked hard to keep up with the demand. The location is wonderful and condusive to walking to the ball parks or downtown. There is a quiet patio area off the pool which we didn't discover until checking out. This is a super hotel.

Room Tip: The two room suite is the same size as the studio without the wall separating the bed from the sitti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susierailroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have stayed at this property three times during the past 6-7 months during short weekend visits to Cincinnati from our home about 2 hours away by car. Twice as a group of 5 (2 adults and 3 kids ages 7, 5 and 2 years) and the night before last (August 25, 2012) with another couple that had two kids slightly older than ours.

We chose the place for it convenient location to Great American Ball Park, home of the Reds, about 4 blocks away downhill towards the Ohio River. Also for the fact that many - but not all - of it's suites offer the ability to close a physical door between the bedroom and the living/ kitchen space which allows us to put our 2-year-old to bed while we stay up for a while longer.

Also a short walk to the "Purple People Bridge", a former rail bridge that connects Cincinnati and Newport, Kentucky which is now dedicated to pedestrian traffic. The bridge goes directly to a shopping and dining complex in Newport and to the Hofbrauhaus Newport which my family enjoyed and which is a good option efre a Reds game if you don't mind a total round-trip walk of maybe 1.5 to 2.0 miles.

In a larger group the day before last we stayed in a 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom suite which easily accommodated two couples and our total of 5 kids. Room rate was about $420 before tax, a bit higher than we expected but ultimately an okay value during a summer weekend with Reds in town.

We had previously gotten a 1-BR suite for something like $150 pre-tax in off season.

Rooms are clean and perfectly pleasant, and feel new but not luxurious. Location is very nice, on Lytle Park near to the Taft Museum and as mentioned very convenient to the baseball stadium.

Staff is very cheerful, pleasant and extremely helpful. Very positive impression across all three visits.

If you are interested in a door that closes between sleeping and living areas be sure to request this specifically as at least some of the rooms don't offer this. Durin our second visit we were given a room without the door and fortunately they were able to switch it for us.

On baseball weekends this place has been stuffed with people in town to take in a game or two.

The 2-bedroom suite we rented this past weekend was terrific, with bedrooms very well insulated from soundproofing perspective from living area. The suite was spacious, with two bathrooms en suite with bedrooms and living area where most of our kids slept on pull-out couch and rollaway bed which staff brought up for us.

We have always easily found street parking at low cost on 4th Street very close to the hotel (note this has generally been on weekends).

Breakfast buffet is included and pretty good, with good variety of standard hot and cold foods (eggs, breakfast meats, waffles, cereal, yogurt, baked goods etc.). Kids definitely liked this a lot.

Interior courtyard is very pleasant for coffee in the morning. Bar area on ground floor is nice. Small hotel gym was fine with new equipment.

I can highly recommend for a pleasant weekend visit to Cincinnati.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JFM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Was going to give this a 4/5, but after staying in another residence inn in another city, had to call it a 5/5.
Great property. Nice lobby. Nice bar Great morning breakfast. Rooms are spacious, modern, very clean. Kitchen is very nice with cups and glasses that I would actually use.
Can walk to ballparks. Easy across bridge walk from bars/resturaunts.
Only negative: NO NEARBY PARKING. MUST VALET.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buckijz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We just finished a 4 night stay and can only agree with others' praise. The room was great, the staff uniformly helpful and cheerful (even when things got CRAZY during weekend breakfast), and the location convenient to all downtown sights.

The General Manager was "front & center" assisting his staff and taking care of guests. No prima donna, he rolled up his sleeves and displayed great leadership, which was reflected in the quality of his staff.

If you're in Cincinnati, this should be a hotel at the top of your list.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKHuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night and were very impressed with the accommodations, service and location! We attended a wedding where most of the guests were staying across the river in Covington, KY at a Marriott, but chose to stay on the Ohio side of the river at the Residence Inn instead. We had a 1 bedroom suite and it was really beautiful and so spacious! All granite counter tops throughout, elegant furnishings and a super comfortable bed made this hotel a GREAT choice! It is within walking distance to the Reds Baseball stadium in a very nice part of the city. Easy access to freeways, with many restaurants within walking distance. An added bonus: Breakfast is included. We liked the Ohio side of the river much better than the Kentucky side.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#9 of 52 in Cincinnati
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#15 of 52 in Cincinnati
1,091 reviews
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#16 of 52 in Cincinnati
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Address: 506 E 4th St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-3303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Phelps Building in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's business district, Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps is an extended-stay Cincinnati hotel that blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Come stay with us and enjoy our comfortable accommodations, whether you're traveling for business or for pleasure. Our Cincinnati extended-stay hotel is an all-suite hotel featuring free daily breakfast, a fitness center, complimentary Wi-Fi, a business center and meeting rooms, and an ideal location close to Downtown Cincinnati's top businesses and attractions. Great American Ballpark, Jack Cincinnati Casino, Duke Energy Convention Center, and more are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown Hotel Cincinnati
Residence Inn By Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing