We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Stay in Cincinnati”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We just finished a 4 night stay and can only agree with others' praise. The room was great, the staff uniformly helpful and cheerful (even when things got CRAZY during weekend breakfast), and the location convenient to all downtown sights.

The General Manager was "front & center" assisting his staff and taking care of guests. No prima donna, he rolled up his sleeves and displayed great leadership, which was reflected in the quality of his staff.

If you're in Cincinnati, this should be a hotel at the top of your list.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKHuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 755 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night and were very impressed with the accommodations, service and location! We attended a wedding where most of the guests were staying across the river in Covington, KY at a Marriott, but chose to stay on the Ohio side of the river at the Residence Inn instead. We had a 1 bedroom suite and it was really beautiful and so spacious! All granite counter tops throughout, elegant furnishings and a super comfortable bed made this hotel a GREAT choice! It is within walking distance to the Reds Baseball stadium in a very nice part of the city. Easy access to freeways, with many restaurants within walking distance. An added bonus: Breakfast is included. We liked the Ohio side of the river much better than the Kentucky side.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

As a Marriott Gold Member I've stayed at my fair share of Marriott properties. This is hands down THE best Residence Inn I've experienced. A group of 20 friends stayed here last week for our annual Cincinnati Tennis Tournament trip. Most of us shared the 2 Bedroom 2 Bath suites that are amazingly large, clean and well laid out. Each & every staff member was extremely friendly. Service was excellent. The property is very clean and well laid out, with a large breakfast area and outdoor courtyard with fountain. The included breakfast is excellent for this category. And to top it off, the location can't be beat. On a quiet street but a short walk to downtown, the ballpark, the river, and Newport on the Kentucky side. This is an excellent choice for a downtown Cincinnati hotel!

Room Tip: If you can get them at a good rate, the 1000 square foot 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom suites are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alv63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I recently stayed at the Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown and was pleasantly surprised. This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever experienced. The hotel is situated in the wonderful Lytle Park and Taft Museum area of the downtown. It's a quite and peaceful place in the heart to Cincinnati's downtown.

The 2-room suite was beautifully furnished, the bed was excellent and the room was extremely quite. I was in town for the Cincinnati Blues Festival and it was a short, pleasant walk to Sawyer Point and the Great American Ball Park area on the riverfront.

The hotel staff were polite and helpful making our stay quite enjoyable

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bluzpwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Recently spent a night at the downtown Residence Inn with our daughter on a Daddy-Daughter trip to the Red's game followed by King's Island the next day. The hotel is beautiful - in the renovated, historic Phelps buildings built in the 1920's. Gorgeous lobby, great breakfast, incredibly convenient to Great American Ballpark (less than 10 minutes walking). The staff was very helpful & friendly and the room was excellent and clean - with a great view of Mt. Adams and Rookwood Pottery. Couldn't ask for a better, more convenient location in downtown for a game! Looking forward to coming back soon!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandjeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. It was so sharp. The entire place was clean, really spic and span. All the furnishings were top notch. The bed and the pillows were comfy. The staff was great, and they were everywhere...friendly and ready to help. The location of this hotel is great for downtown Cincinnati experiences. We walked down to the river, had dinner, and walked along through the park enjoying the evening and watching boat traffic. We could've walked to the Great American Ballpark, had we been so inclined. The hotel has a very nice patio with a fountain and fire pit. There is a great exercise room. Breakfast was included in our stay, and while it was sufficient, it wasn't anything spectacular. We definitely walked away with full stomachs, though, so I can't complain. I would definitely stay here again without hesitation. It was a fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cool_teacher590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here one night and walked right to the ballpark for a Reds game. The staff is super friendly and helpful. Valet parking was easy. Room was spacious, clean, and full of gorgeous details. Place seemed full but remained quite throughout our visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank samsmom2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#9 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,402 reviews
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#18 of 51 in Cincinnati
895 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#16 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps

Address: 506 E 4th St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-3303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range: $154 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Phelps Building in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's business district, Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps is an extended-stay Cincinnati hotel that blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Come stay with us and enjoy our comfortable accommodations, whether you're traveling for business or for pleasure. Our Cincinnati extended-stay hotel is an all-suite hotel featuring free daily breakfast, a fitness center, complimentary Wi-Fi, a business center and meeting rooms, and an ideal location close to Downtown Cincinnati's top businesses and attractions. Great American Ballpark, Jack Cincinnati Casino, Duke Energy Convention Center, and more are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown Hotel Cincinnati
Residence Inn By Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing