We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hampton - University of Cincinnati” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, United States
1 review
“Hampton - University of Cincinnati”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

I reserved three rooms at the Hampton Inn for me and my two Japanese guests. We ended up getting three studio King suites. They were spacious and clean. The breakfast was wonderful, lots of choices and we felt taken care of. These rooms were the best value of any of the hotels that we stayed at over a three day period which included stays in Sacramento, CA and Concord, CA.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    160
    69
    23
    21
See reviews for
277
66
17
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

My stay was very pleasant during the three days I stayed at the Hampton. We did have to pay 9 dollars a day to park in the parking lot outside from the Hotel. The area was little tight to get in and out driving but I guest this normal for big cities. The Hotel staff was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank charlesm134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hotel was modern and immaculate, very good complimentary breakfast buffet. Staff was pleasant and accommodating. The only possible complaint would be that the parking spaces are a bit too narrow. Definitely worthy of a return stay.

Room Tip: If you a far from the elevator, it can be quite a hike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WBRONH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

I've read some of the other reviews and yes there are some beat up looking college rentals but I expect that being so close to the college. We were moving our son to Cincinnati for school so it was a great location.

Our room was spacious and extremely clean. The housekeeping crew were very kind. The free breakfast was like no other! Waffles, pancakes, eggs, sausage, yogurt, loads of fresh fruits, cereal, and more! The staff was also wonderful there as well.

We did have a drunk man approach us in the parking lot and he was a tad verbally aggressive. We kept walking and entered the hotel, went to our room and called the front desk. They were going to take care of it. We have had the same kind of thing happen in other cities we have visited and it would not keep us from staying here again.

It was also walking distance to the university as close to the gas light district which has some great places to eat. You can also get late night pizza delivery from several wonderful eateries.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Plaid123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

The hotel itself was what you expect from a Hampton. However, we stayed in room 318 and had to call the front desk 4 times after 11:00 PM to have them do something about the excessive noise on the floor above us. To their credit, they did send security each time, but then the noise started again within 10-15 minutes. The floors and walls are very thin, thus allowing more noise than what you'd expect.

Outside of the noise, the parking is not very good. You either arrive and stay at the hotel early, or you risk parking your vehicle in a "sketchy" garage with no security for your vehicle. Again, very odd for a Hampton.

If I was going to Cincinnati again, I'd find someplace else to stay.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clwcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValarieOrr, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Sometimes the guests that park at our hotel do not notice the several security cameras that are placed for safety and security not only in the upper parking area but the lower garage area as these are placed strategically for a reason.

The City of Cincinnati owns the Parking Facilities of the hotel (as they do many other business parking areas). Because of this, the City of Cincinnati Police Department patrols these facilities very often and to date, this hotel has not had any incidents of crime either to vehicles parked in the hotel parking area or at the hotel itself.

The noise issue should not have continued after Security warned the guests above you on the 2nd time. However it is possible that each time there was a complaint, it was not the same room. I apologize for this as I know this can be quite annoying when trying to rest in your own room.

I'll review the handling of noise complaints with our Security Staff and ask that they take greater measures to insure that the noise issues do not continue so that there are no future guest disturbances.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we do hope you give our hotel a second chance to change your impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
305 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

What looks like a brand new hotel near the U of Cincy campus and hospital, but the housing around the hotel looks a little slummy or just think of beat up college houses, but the place was nice and close to where I needed to go, took just a few mins to get to downtown.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hart277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValarieOrr, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
As you can tell when visiting - the area in and around our hotel and the University of Cincinnati is undergoing a revitalization and resurgance of growth! Of course during this period there will always be real estate that is in transistion that hasn't exactly succumbed to the wrecking ball that blights the area during this process - but rest assured within the next year or so, Uptown Area will be a destination spot not only for those visiting the University of Cincinnati but for those guests visiting the area for entertainment and leisure.

Thank you for your review and we do hope you return to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinsburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We brought two teenage girls for the University of Cincinnati open house. Hotel is several blocks from the university. We were very impressed with the appearance and cleanliness of the hotel. The hotel staff was welcoming and helpful with tips and directions for the local area. The included breakfast was wonderful and everything was fresh and well stocked. Lots of fresh fruit, hot and cold cereal, fresh waffles, and much more. The king bed was very comfortable. Unfortunately, the girls had to sleep on the sofa bed. The sofa bed was somewhat uncomfortable because you could feel the frame through the mattress. Would have been okay for small children, but for older children or adults, could be a problem. Another thing to consider, in the King suite, the toliet and tub were in a separate room, but the sink and vanity were open to the room. This could present a problem where privacy concerns are involved. As I understood it, not all rooms have this set-up.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gennieann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Downtown
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#11 of 50 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area
Address: 3024 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#7 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#7 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near everything you need, Hampton Inn Blue Ash/Cincinnati provides amenities and convenience for a comfortable stay. Learn about the area from the time you walk into our lobby filled with photos of local landmarks and places of interest. Whether you stay for one night or an extended stay, you'll feel right at home. Wake up to fresh coffee in the comfort of your own room, then enjoy our free hot breakfast served daily from 6a-10a. Our rooms offer one king- or two queen-sized beds. In each King room is a Sofa Sleeper for added comfort. Every room in the hotel offers a Microwave and Fridge for guest convenience - which is ideal for a family or group travel. For a quick snack, beverage, forgotten travel item, a good book or even Cincinnati Hometown Fan Favorite apparel, stop by the 24-hour Treats Shop located in the main lobby. Get in a workout in the state-of-the-art Precor 24-hour fitness center and finish those work projects in the 24-hour business center or refresh in the heated indoor saline pool. Whatever your need - we can meet it!! Explore Cincinnati attractions including King's Island Amusement Park, the Cincinnati Zoo and Botanical Gardens and cheer on the Bengals at Paul Brown Stadium. Try your luck at Horseshoe Casino or take in a summer festival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area Hotel Cincinnati
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing