We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Friendly Staff in Cincinnati” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Seven Hills, OH, United States
1 review
“Friendly Staff in Cincinnati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on one previous occasion and again the night before our son's graduation. During our son's time at University of Cincinnati, we used to stay at less expensive hotels away from campus. Once we started staying at the Uptown Hampton, we did not want to go back to the cheaper hotels. The staff members at the Uptown Hampton are extremely friendly, the hotel is new, the rooms are exceptionally clean, and the location is superb. The hotel was full to capacity the last weekend of April for UC graduation, and apparently management had stepped up and staffed up to serve the high volume.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    151
    62
    18
    20
See reviews for
259
60
17
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I realize that 'complimentary' breakfast won't be the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York! However, the really bad quality of eggs, bacon, etc. that the hotel offered was such that we decided to skip the breakfast (after tasting a small amount) and we went out and found a chain restaurant. Powdered eggs, horrible! Skip the 'free' breakfast or perhaps just make it 'continental' with coffee, juice, bagels, toast, etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Modern hotel near the University of Cincinnati and Ludlow area. Room was modern with flat panel TV, walk-in shower, and spacious. No microwave or refrigerator in the room. Room was on the third floor overlooking parking lot. Breakfast had a lot of variety and staff members were available for assistance. Breakfast items were immediately re-stocked when taken and staff members came by to ask if anything else was needed. Overall a great stay!

Room Tip: Rooms in the corner are quite and away from main hallway traffic. There is a daily charge for parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mavium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValarieOrr, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
THANK YOU for your recent review of our hotel. As a new property with many other choices at traveler's fingertips, we strive to be the best. We are glad that you truly enjoyed your stay and took the time to let everyone know. Please come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallins Creek, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Very nice all the way around. Just when I thought customer service was a thing of the past, my family spent the night here. Everyone was so pleasant, from check in to departure. The room we stayed in was excellent, very clean and the bathroom was amazing. The breakfast buffet was awesome and the even have to go bags made up at the front desk for those who don't have time to stop for breakfast. How awesome is that! Will definitely stay here the next time we have an appt. at Cincy Children's Hospital.

Room Tip: If you are hot natured, bring a fan, unless you get there early. We arrived at 9pm and the room did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValarieOrr, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank You!!! We are very proud to provide great customer service - from Management to Team Member, we always try to go above and beyond our Guest's expectations to bring value to the price paid. I have to agree that our Breakfast is Awesome too. The fresh berries available for yogurt, oatmeal or even our waffles add an extra touch to starting any day right. Please come visit us again! We are looking forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicco, KY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I can't vouch for all the rooms, but suite 227 was very nice! It was very clean, spacious, and comfortable. The room has a half kitchen area with a sink, refrigerator, microwave, coffee machine, and counterspace. The television is positioned so it can be viewed from anywhere in the room. The room has a king size bed that is very comfortable. The suite did not have a whirlpool tub, but the bathtub was a little bigger than some I have encountered at other hotels. The heat/air conditioner is controlled by a remote, which is nice if you want to adjust it in the middle of the night. There was never any disturbing noise. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay. My only complaint (a complaint with most hotels) is that housekeeping came knocking before it was even 11am (check-out is by 12pm). The housekeeper was very nice, but there should be a system so they know the rooms that are no longer occupied. It makes me feel rushed. On our way out, a housekeeper spoke to us and asked if we checked the room well for our belongings. She said she would thoroughly look over it and have us notified if she found anything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyAnnTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

The Hampton Inn Cincinnati/Uptown is located almost across the street from the U of Cincinnati and is completely safe and secure. Plenty of parking, spacious rooms (we had a king suite), and EXCELLENT service. I do not use that word very often, but this hotel's staff is wonderful. Robert was particularly helpful. He deserves recognition for that! If you are visiting the area, stay here. It's only about 15 minutes from fantastic suburban malls, so you are close to everything. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nmk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is an Excellent hotel...the staff is very congenial and very helpful. The rooms and the beds are great and the breakfast buffet was outstanding. We enjoyed a mini family reunion and felt right at home, even to watching the National Championship game and enjoying a glass of wine in the lobby. Hotel was very clean and well cared for, we will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missplum55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area
Address: 3024 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#7 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#7 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near everything you need, Hampton Inn Blue Ash/Cincinnati provides amenities and convenience for a comfortable stay. Learn about the area from the time you walk into our lobby filled with photos of local landmarks and places of interest. Whether you stay for one night or an extended stay, you'll feel right at home. Wake up to fresh coffee in the comfort of your own room, then enjoy our free hot breakfast served daily from 6a-10a. Our rooms offer one king- or two queen-sized beds. In each King room is a Sofa Sleeper for added comfort. Every room in the hotel offers a Microwave and Fridge for guest convenience - which is ideal for a family or group travel. For a quick snack, beverage, forgotten travel item, a good book or even Cincinnati Hometown Fan Favorite apparel, stop by the 24-hour Treats Shop located in the main lobby. Get in a workout in the state-of-the-art Precor 24-hour fitness center and finish those work projects in the 24-hour business center or refresh in the heated indoor saline pool. Whatever your need - we can meet it!! Explore Cincinnati attractions including King's Island Amusement Park, the Cincinnati Zoo and Botanical Gardens and cheer on the Bengals at Paul Brown Stadium. Try your luck at Horseshoe Casino or take in a summer festival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area Hotel Cincinnati
Hampton Inn And Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing