We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3024 Vine Street, Cincinnati, OH 45242   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This Hampton Inn appeared to be very new. It was very clean and the staff was friendly and very professional. This is a great location if you have business with UC as it is within walking distance. My only complaint is the proximity to a selection of restaurants. I did have to drive to find something that would satisfy a healthy lifestyle. I would definitely stay here again. *word of caution~ If you are a Sprint customer, the reception in this hotel is spotty at best.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klangender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    146
    60
    18
    19
See reviews for
253
56
17
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Hampton inn on Vine is very easy to get to and is very close to everything UC related. We stayed at this Hampton for auditions for CCM. It was only .8mile from the conservatory. So in the right weather it would have been an easy walk.

The room was very comfortable and the pillow top mattresses was a definite plus. The walls between the rooms was a little thin (or we just has really good hearing) as our neighboring room had the tv on all night and we could hear it. In fairness to the hotel, we did not notify the staff of this issue and I am sure that they would have addressed it if we had complained.

The complimentary breakfast was amazing. There was a variety of items to fit anyone's dietary needs. There were self serve waffles, scrabbled eggs, bacon, fresh fruit, cereal, oatmeal, pastries, muffins, etc. This type of breakfast was a wonderful perk. The dining area was not cramped and it was very clean, even with a full hotel.

The parking lot was adequate for the hotel size and location. It was was a $9/day fee but the lot was frequented by the city police so that added to additional security. The neighborhood a few blocks away from the hotel opposite of the university, specifically, isn't the greatest. I wouldn't stroll off or jog the area.

Logan was one of the front desk employees who was very hospitable and went out of his way to make sure that we were satisfied with our stay. It was very apparent that customer service is priority at this location and they really strive to have repeat customers and know the value of a satisfied customer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank friendlyflyer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coshocton, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This brand new property is full of the friendliest and most attentive staff I have ever had the pleasure of encountering in a Hampton brand. We are Hilton Honors members so have visited many of them.

The hotel is clean, modern and well maintained. Even though it's over two years old now, you'd think it was opened a month earlier because of the condition of everything.

The parking area is well lit and worth the $9.00 charge. The walk to the University of Cincinnati's campus isn't far and we didn't feel uncomfortable at all, even walking back after dark.

I would definately stay here again for our next trip to UC!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearcatfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIMPSONVILLE
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

New hotel with friendly staff. Located right af UC campus. Kinda hard to get in and out, but we lived. Great king room w pullout. Also close to Skyline original, LaRosas and Graeters. If you are wondering what that means, it wont matter :) We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at this Hampton Inn last weekend on a college visit. The staff was wonderful and our room was beautiful. We fell asleep as soon as our heads hit those wonderful pillows. They were booked solid but the place was quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenmum1095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is great value, clean and quiet rooms, great breakfast and within walking distance of the University Hospitals and Research sites. I have been staying here for over a year and a half, every 6 weeks and this hotel is my first choice in the area. I am warned about the University area in general due to safety, but hotel is close and well lit. I eat at the Marriott resturant nearby which is a great food restaurant and only a half a block away. I am a Hilton gal, plus, the Marriot did not have closets, but cabinets and I could not always get a room and too many people and noisy.
I am so glad the Hampton Inn is available right where it is, which is a perfect location and a brisk healthy walk in any season to the Univesity Hospitals. The staff is friendly and they all do such a great job!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwyn Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

A very nice Hampton except where it counts. Exterior noise is very well controlled. But the next room's TV comes right through the walls and you hear every footstep in the room above. Very disappointing. We were in Room 202.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValarieOrr, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
I do apologize for the noise disturbance and have looked into the issue. I was made aware through Phillips / Time Warner / Lodgenet which is our TV Brand and our services provider that most televisions volume is controlled by the programming that brings the signal to the TV itself. Therefore, commercials and programs sometimes appear louder or quieter as there is an automatic volume control.
You may have noticed this at home as well where some commercials are booming and others are barely audible.
This is an issue that many guests have in many hotels (and at home) while traveling. They can hear the TV from an adjacent room. Unfortunately there is not much we, as hotel managers can do as the issue is beyond our control. However as Customer Service providers, we can make the adjacent guest aware that their TV is a bit too loud and ask if they can possibly manually lower it while explaining that it is not a direct issue that they caused or we could have possible moved you to a different room or upgraded you to a suite in a quieter area of the hotel based upon our hotel availability.
When you are in the area again, please choose our hotel and make us aware at check in that you had a noise issue, we will do our very best to place you in an area where there are no guests adjacent to your room so this doesn't occur again.
Other than the noise, I hope that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area
Address: 3024 Vine Street, Cincinnati, OH 45242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#7 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#7 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near everything you need, Hampton Inn Blue Ash/Cincinnati provides amenities and convenience for a comfortable stay. Learn about the area from the time you walk into our lobby filled with photos of local landmarks and places of interest. Whether you stay for one night or an extended stay, you'll feel right at home. Wake up to fresh coffee in the comfort of your own room, then enjoy our free hot breakfast served daily from 6a-10a. Our rooms offer one king- or two queen-sized beds. In each King room is a Sofa Sleeper for added comfort. Every room in the hotel offers a Microwave and Fridge for guest convenience - which is ideal for a family or group travel. For a quick snack, beverage, forgotten travel item, a good book or even Cincinnati Hometown Fan Favorite apparel, stop by the 24-hour Treats Shop located in the main lobby. Get in a workout in the state-of-the-art Precor 24-hour fitness center and finish those work projects in the 24-hour business center or refresh in the heated indoor saline pool. Whatever your need - we can meet it!! Explore Cincinnati attractions including King's Island Amusement Park, the Cincinnati Zoo and Botanical Gardens and cheer on the Bengals at Paul Brown Stadium. Try your luck at Horseshoe Casino or take in a summer festival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area Hotel Cincinnati
Hampton Inn And Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing