We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Cincinnati Midtown

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
SpringHill Suites Cincinnati Midtown
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Ashland, KY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not worth the money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2010

Will never stay here again. Although rooms are new and clean, the bathroom has frosted glass in the door which allows anyone to see the person in the shower. There are no locks on the bathroom doors (which are sliding doors). The bathroom doors don't even latch! I stayed with my wife and teenage daughter and everyone was uncomfortable with the bathroom arrangement. The hotel charges $8 per night for parking and there was only 6 cars in the lot. NO RESTURANTS close by! The only food available was microwave meals sold at the lobby. I used a debit card and they overcharged me by $60 due to a processing fee on the debit card. The beds were very hard! Noise level was very loud due to being right next to I-71. I will not be recommending this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jopor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    89
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
88
50
8
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

Stay here all the time son goes to school in Cinci. Clean great beds fast elevator good breakfast and quiet hotel. Eden Park across the street is beautiful. Walk up to the Mt Adams lookout for a great view of the city. For a tour of the city call the Able Scotsman very reasonable and what a history the city has and great buildings.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Thomas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2009

Stayed here for one night for a reception the following evening. Brand new, very clean. Lobby is beautiful! Large circular area with flat screen and comy chairs surrounded by floor length jewel colored sheers; quite unique. Bar in lobby also. Very good breakfast served every morning included in room price. Eggs, sausage, waffles, fruit, pastries etc. Room had 2 queen size beds which were very comfortable. Living area had desk, sectional sofa, fridge, microwave. Colors are all rich jewel tones.....beautiful All accesories and fixtures are very contemporary and nicely done. Nice view of the city also.

Located right on I71, but did not notice any noise from the interstate. You do need a car if you are staying here or I suppose you could just use local taxis. Nothing close to walk to but only a stones throw from both stadiums and downtown, not to mention Eden Park, Mount Adams, Newport on the Levee, major hospitals, University of Cincinnati and several nice shopping areas such as Kenwood Towne Center and Rookwood Commons.

I live in the Cincinnati area and definitely have any of my family or friends stay here!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryjo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

I was nervous about staying here after reading previous reviews. Plus, I was wary of the location after looking a bit at the surrounding area. But I kept my reso because of it's proximity to University of Cincinnati (the place I was visiting). Once we arrived, I was thrilled. The hotel is fresh and new, uniquely decorated in the public areas and the rooms are quite contemporary with colors, furniture, and fixtures. I do agree that the toilet/shower areas (I don't quite know how to word them) are unique. I also agree that the toilet stall is odd because it is small and the door is a rolling type that comes out of the wall, rather than the typical hinge-type door. Rooms feature a muted turquoise color, along with a few other subdued hues.

I really liked it here and felt safe. Business buildings are located close by and the historic Mt. Adams is only about a mile up the hill. Mt. Adams has wonderful restaurants and shops--all are unique, no fast food at all. Great city and river views can be had from up there. It's only about 5 minutes from the University and freeway access couldn't be easier. It also seems easy to access the stadiums close by.

Staff was fantastic. All were friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast wasn't anything different from what other hotels of this calibre offer. But it was well presented, the areas clean and well stocked.

If I return to the area, this will definitely be my 1st choice. I recommend this hotel definitely for business travelers or for families traveling with older children.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

Stayed here 2 nights so we could attend Reds Game. Hotel still smells new, but they hired a bad architect. Strangest thing is the bathroom which has been split into 2 "closets". One with a shower & sink and other with a toilet & sink. Both have pocket doors that private no privacy. The shower closet has a fogged door so when the wife took an early shower the entire room lit up. No one liked the toilet closet which was 2 feet from the beds with a pocket door that was 2" from the wall & did not lock. More privacy in a public stall. Just strange. As others have stated $8 for parking that anyone can access is a scam. The front desk hammers you when you check in to see if you brought a car because they can wait to add $8 to your bill.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cel1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

Very new property and very clean. We had a very pleasant stay overall. The staff was generally helpful and the maid was amazing. She was probably one of the best I've expierenced and was really customer focused.

This is a little different room layout than other Springhill Suites with a more modern look. But overall it is the same room you get at the properties throughout the US. There were some maint problems, door handle fell off, sliding glass for computer desk was stuck, and the shower leaked on to the floor when the door didn't seal correctly.

The fitness area isn't all that great. One of the treadmills is impossible to run on due to a weak motor, the weights are limited, and there isn't a universal machine of any kind. Pool is small, but useful. There isn't a hot tub which seems odd.

Location is about a mile or two from Downtown. The area around the hotel is fine. There is a nice park across the street which was nice to run in. There is also a college bar area really close, which I ran across while running. It is a perfectly safe walk to the downtown area if you want to do that, but you definately will walk through some low income spots.

Breakfast was done very nicely and they kept is well stocked. The workers were staying on top of refreshing all of the items. We eat early, so there wasn't much of a crowd. Also we stayed over a weekend and this is primarily a business hotel, so they didn't seem very busy.

My biggest complaint is the price for the room for a weekend stay. We got a discount through Marriott, so it wasn't a bad price. However, their standard price compared to a downtown hotel like the Hyatt isn't worth it. For business I wouldn't mind the price and location, but with my family I will pay less next time and stay downtown.

Overall a good hotel with an enjoyable expierence, but there are several areas that should improve to make this worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skinsfan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

I echo previous reviewers in saying this hotel has more style than one would expect from the brand. It is located near Eden Park, which apparently is Cincinnati's crown jewel of parks....if you can ignore the rough neighbourhoods nearby.

That said, this is not a hotel to stay at without a car. There is absolutely nothing within safe walking distance. However, with car, this place is a very good value, especially for folks who don't want to be downtown, but rather close-in.

The rooms are modern in design and decor, with eco-friendly touches, a euro-style bathroom (where the toilet and a hand sink is in a separate area from the shower and main sink). The bathroom has a wonderful large walk-in shower, and a nicely lit vanity, perhaps one of the best I've ever seen from Marriott.

I found the room pleasingly quiet, despite literally adjacent to I-71 (the hotel is in an office park, mainly with Humana Offices, 2 or 3 Meters from the the highway!). There's probably more noise from the HVAC unit than the highway, which was surprising.

Fitness center is moderately equipped, with several cardio machines, some dumbells, and a chair bench. The hotel could add some abdominal equipment, and I'd be happier. An indoor pool is small, and the draw seemed mainly for families. Speaking of that, it is very close the the Cincinnati Children's hospital campus, and an excellent option for those needing to be nearby.

Internet was wireless, free, and flawless, and the work area was comfortable and ergonomic. I particularly enjoyed the big sofa to relax on, when winding down the workday. The beds were average, but comfortable.

Hotel's misses:

Breakfast was bland, but basic. I suppose you can't complain for the free price, but this hotel also commands rates similar to full-service hotels nearby. I did expect more fruits and hot options for that price.

Parking is $8? Are you kidding? Clearly the hotel's way of adding on extra to the room rate without being honest about it. This should be free, especially in this part of town.

Hotel bar is so-so. They have bar-food, but nothing very palatable. I would suggest nearby downtown restaurants, of traveling North on I-71 to exit 6 for a variety of places, including a Whole Foods store. On the plus side, the drinks were reasonably priced for a hotel. The rooms at least have refrigerators and microwaves, which might come in handy if you arrive late (hotel has frozen meals in their lobby store).

Stay here for comfort and if you have a car. If you're without a car, or want to do a lot of the tourist options on foot, or enjoy a full-service restaurant, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_wahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Central Business District
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#11 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#4 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Cincinnati Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Cincinnati Midtown

Property: SpringHill Suites Cincinnati Midtown
Address: 610 Eden Park Dr, Cincinnati, OH 45202-6031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#13 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Cincinnati Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your SpringHill Suites Cincinnati Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Cincinnati Midtown Hotel Cincinnati
SpringHill Suites Cincinnati Midtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing