We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Must see if you like trains and food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Dinner Train

Cincinnati Dinner Train
Ranked #134 of 1,892 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Must see if you like trains and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I found this experience here on trip advior. I was amazed when they mention they dont advertise as the cars were packed. We bought our tickets same day and arrived a little after 5. You should know the meetup spot is in a BBQ parking lot and does have a road sign.
Once on the train we went to the bar car and had a drink and mingled with other passengers. Everyone (including the staff) were so friendly. The train takes off promptly at 6 and you will find "snacks"at your table;cheese and crackers. The owner comes around and introduces himself while also telling great stories along the way. Very funny and personable. Ask him how he got into the business. Truly an American "can do" attittude.
We had chicken and prime rib. We thought prime rib was a bit cold but the chicken was delicious. Not a fan of the veggies.
The view on the first half was not great but wait for it...it gets better.
Overall a great experience and I would recommend highly for anyone visiting or a great date night.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank RealMrsStraub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    12
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More of a dinner date than a train ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

No opportunity to get out and view the train nor is it a very scenic route. Perfect venue for a different dinning experience, adult birthday, wedding anniversary, etc. but not a train ride. As it is this is not a good choice for families small kids will get bored stuck on a train listening to the adults talk for 3 hours. Might be better if they served dinner on the way to the park stopped let you get out and explore the park for a while and then served desert back to the loading point. Food quality, presentation and portion size were all good.

Here again souvenir photo should be geared more towards the train (or even somewhere in the park) and less about the over grown weeds beside the tracks.

Above all I would have to say the staff is what makes this a very good experience. They all give a 100% to make sure you are comfortable and enjoying your trip. Hopefully the management recognizes this and rewards them appropriately.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jeff d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
135 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

My husband and I do a dress up dinner every year around Christmas time. We chose the Cincinnati Dinner train this year and were quite pleased!

You have to book WAY early since reservations fill up quickly.

It was just the two of us and we got lucky because we got an end-table where they only sat the two of us. Please note that if there are only two of you, unless you get one of the two end tables or you pay for the other two seats, you will be sat with another couple, since all the rest of the tables are 4 tops.

The ride was 3 hours, start to finish. The food was spaced nicely and very tasty. We would have liked some Christmas music, but they played music from WGRR oldies - to their credit, it WAS oldies night, as stated on the website, but it was one of the only nights availible for us.

The service was great. Be aware that soft drinks are not included and you cannot make food substitutions. The menu will be what you pre-select before the ride. The cost is $74.50 a person for the ride and dinner. A bit pricey, but you are paying for the experience of the whole thing.

Ladies, bring a sweater if you go in the winter months. It was a bit chilly. And the train does rock quite a bit. Walking to the restroom was interesting!

It was dark out for the whole ride, so there was not much to see, but when we passed something of note, they told us over the PA system. Neat history!

We had a nice time, just us two, but it also would have been a fun thing to do with another couple.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Navilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

the food was good was on the way thru on a trip and enjoyed the food and service

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PerihanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow, a terrffic New Years dinner ride.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We dressed for the occasion, women in 40's hats, men in suits and ties. The servers took care of all needs and drink orders promptly. We enjoyed our companions, the sights and historical announcements. It was the best New Year's eve of our lives.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KentuckyRuthK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Dinner Train also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Dinner Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing