We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow over kill”

Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption
Ranked #27 of 182 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A gothic cathedral that has a design similar to Notre Dame in Paris.
Irving
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow over kill”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This cathederal church is quite a massive place and its architecture is fabulous. For free it is worth every penny. However up the road is a place called the garden of hope is an awe inspiring view of the Cincinnati complete with a replica of the garden tomb and built all by volunteers. Both worth seeing

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    21
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful.!!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I loved the place.! I wanted to visit a Church in Cincinnati. I'm glad I visited this one. It was just so wonderful and peaceful. memorable. I felt like staying longer. Excellent.! It is worth a visit. Visited Aug 2012.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Msme310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
357 reviews
201 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Cincinnati Cathedral”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were travelling thru' to Cleveland and decided to take a break in Cincinnati.Using the internet we found the cathedral. It is stunning and the stained glass windows were worth the visit on its' own.There are people around to answer Questions and were knowledgeable enough not to be stumped.Good place to go for a couple of hours. Also drive to the park at the top of the hill in Cincinnati. Short drive well worth it for the view over the city and the river.
Pleasant three hours .

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cynthiarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
896 reviews
471 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 850 helpful votes
“Best mosaics outside of Italy”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Can you imagine our wonder at seeing the Stations of the Cross in mosaics made in Venice? 80,000 pieces per mosaic? We were awestruck. In addition, the stained glass windows are works of art in themselves. It's a pleasant drive down main street Covington to the Cathedral, and it's close to downtown Cincy. It won't take much time and I guarantee if you know what you are seeing, you will be inspired.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony-Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This old ex-Catholic really really enjoyed Mass here”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Enjoyed this magnificent feat of architecture - glorious stained glass windows and humility of the Mass provided to this strained neighborhood. If I were a practicing Catholic - I would seek out a visit to this cathedral and be willing to drive 4-6 hours, spend the night in a hotel on the river, go to Sunday Mass and have brunch at Keystone bar on Greenup.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kranny115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing