We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful.!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption

Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption
1101 Madison Avenue, Covington, Kentucky, Cincinnati, OH 41011
859-431-2060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 141 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A gothic cathedral that has a design similar to Notre Dame in Paris.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful.!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I loved the place.! I wanted to visit a Church in Cincinnati. I'm glad I visited this one. It was just so wonderful and peaceful. memorable. I felt like staying longer. Excellent.! It is worth a visit. Visited Aug 2012.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Msme310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Cincinnati Cathedral”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were travelling thru' to Cleveland and decided to take a break in Cincinnati.Using the internet we found the cathedral. It is stunning and the stained glass windows were worth the visit on its' own.There are people around to answer Questions and were knowledgeable enough not to be stumped.Good place to go for a couple of hours. Also drive to the park at the top of the hill in Cincinnati. Short drive well worth it for the view over the city and the river.
Pleasant three hours .

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cynthiarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
783 reviews
402 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 683 helpful votes
“Best mosaics outside of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Can you imagine our wonder at seeing the Stations of the Cross in mosaics made in Venice? 80,000 pieces per mosaic? We were awestruck. In addition, the stained glass windows are works of art in themselves. It's a pleasant drive down main street Covington to the Cathedral, and it's close to downtown Cincy. It won't take much time and I guarantee if you know what you are seeing, you will be inspired.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony-Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This old ex-Catholic really really enjoyed Mass here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Enjoyed this magnificent feat of architecture - glorious stained glass windows and humility of the Mass provided to this strained neighborhood. If I were a practicing Catholic - I would seek out a visit to this cathedral and be willing to drive 4-6 hours, spend the night in a hotel on the river, go to Sunday Mass and have brunch at Keystone bar on Greenup.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kranny115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview Hls
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've seen more cathedrals in Europe that I can count. I just happened to stop by the Basilica one rainy day to have a look at the stained-glass windows. Whoa... what a beautiful place. Small by European standards, but incredibly beautiful in terms of its rich, rich woodwork and stained-glass windows.



Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing