We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome church!”

Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption
Ranked #28 of 183 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A gothic cathedral that has a design similar to Notre Dame in Paris.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome church!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The architecture of this church is amazing! The huge stained glass windows were gorgeous in the sunlight. A very nice place to visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Runnerashbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    21
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beuatiful and spiritual”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We attended mass here and were so impressed with the beauty and history of the basilica, that we brought the boys with us the following Sunday from Dayton. Lovely!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MizEmmy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a church!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We went to a wedding at this church. It was amazing. If you like church architecture, this is a must see in Cincinnati.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lgorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A gem of a building”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This building has an interesting past which I encourage you to check out before stopping by...the windows, the design, the beauty all require you to stop and look closer. As the sun sets into the windows its beauty radiates inside

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bogeybacall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cathedral”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The stain glass windows are breathtaking! You would just have to see them to believe how gorgeous they truly are. When we walked in, we were greeted by a very nice lady with a smile and told to look around as long as we wanted. A stop here is well worth the visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandy0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing