We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are interested in presidents or history give it a try.”

William Howard Taft National Historic Site
Ranked #33 of 183 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Birthplace of America's 27th president, now a museum containing momentos of Taft's personal life and political career.
somewhere
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“If you are interested in presidents or history give it a try.”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

After all, you can't beat free. The park ranger and tour guide were both very friendly. While Taft wasn't necessarily the most popular president, it's wonderful to hear about his childhood, and stand in the house where he grew up. I also left seeing him in a more favorable light.

The gift shop and education Center was not as extensive as President Grant's historic sight in St. Louis, but perhaps that's understandable. Grant was probably better known, and Grant's home is located right next to Grant's Farm (popular attraction). So they probably get more traffic.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jcoldc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    67
    15
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
westchester county, ny
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Piece of American History”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Since Taft does not have a library this is a great place to learn about a very important and exceptionally wise President. If you a history buff..this is a MUST. our tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. It is run by the US Parks Dept and is FREE. It might not be flashy but it's very fascinating.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dh24yaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“History lesson”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The William Howard Taft Historic site visit starts out in a building beside Taft's boyhood home with a 14 minute video presentation which was very interesting. The site is run by the national park service and a ranger walked us next door to the home after the video. She took us through a few of the rooms and answered many of our questions. We were then left on our own to explore the top floor which held many pictures and information about Taft. It hold my interest and I enjoyed the visit. The site is free of charge and there is also free parking in back of the visitor's center. We were there about 90 minutes.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tlynn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice historic site”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

It is a nice stop and does not take too much time. The home is very well preserved with lots of exhibits on the second floor and in the Visitor Center. Taft did alot of good things I did'nt know about. Great educational site.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth a Stop”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Since we went in the middle of the week it was just me and my husband, which was nice because we got a private tour. Our guide was knowledgeable, but it seemed like she memorized what to say in each room and what was memorized was geared towards children. I would like to feel like I'm being spoken to instead of spoken at, but that's being nit picky. I also think it was unnecessary to use the mic since there were only two of us, but again, nit picky. Overall we had a nice time and learned a bit about a president we hadn't heard too much about (except the bathtub).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank hilolp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed William Howard Taft National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to William Howard Taft National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing