We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting small place of history”

William Howard Taft National Historic Site
Ranked #33 of 182 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Birthplace of America's 27th president, now a museum containing momentos of Taft's personal life and political career.
Level Contributor
188 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Interesting small place of history”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Decided to visit birthplace since I was staying in Dayton and it was close by. Small parking lot that you can easily miss. Free admission and so glad I visited. Tour guide was excellent, she knew her facts and was very friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mdtinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    65
    14
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
328 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Childhood home is very middle-class”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Located on Auburn Street the museum has a 15 minute video intoruction, a National Park Service ranger-led tour and some independent exhibits. No admission charge. Taft is certainly not a famous president and that may be partly to his varied public service career and the fact that he perferred the law to politics himself. This is his boyhood home so you learn more about his parents and family than on an average tour. Also, since his brother was the rich one in the family, the furnishings are very modest. Reminds me of Calvin Collidge's home in Vermont. A bit off the beaten path, it can be reached on city bus 24,

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kirbyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cincinnati's Only National Park”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

As Cincinnati's only National Park, this is a must! The house is beautiful and the history of WM Howard Taft's life is quite interesting. It's definitely a small park, but well worth it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We didn't have much time as we were going to a Reds game that afternoon. We were basically the only ones there on a weekday morning in April. We got a private tour from a volunteer (not a park ranger), an older retired gentleman. He really knew his stuff. Made for a great, interesting tour. He kept my two sons engaged. Didn't know much about Taft. Being from Boston our tour guide threw in some JFK comparisons that he knew of. Great tour guide. I hope he is there for you. Worth the visit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank EdSaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Little known piece of history”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We recently went here after living here my entire life and never having been there. What a great little diamond in the rough right here in Cincinnati.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed William Howard Taft National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to William Howard Taft National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing