We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lazy proprietor” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of William Howard Taft National Historic Site

William Howard Taft National Historic Site
Ranked #33 of 174 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Birthplace of America's 27th president, now a museum containing momentos of Taft's personal life and political career.
Sharon, MA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lazy proprietor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Disappointed. I was able to convince my sons to see the Taft house and drove into town to find the exhibit closed. Was the attraction scheduled to be closed? No. There was less than an inch of snow and the exhibit was closed to do weather conditions. Really? An inch of snow? Seriously? There was a note on the door. If they were able to put a note on the door the exhibit should have been opeb.

If this was in Boston it would be closed a third of the winter. Not much dedication here. Missed a golden opportunity to provide my son's some Taft history. #missedopportunity.

Helpful?
2 Thank Patriot_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    62
    13
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lakenheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really cool piece of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

If you are in Cincinnati you might as well go to the Taft's house! The visitors center shows you a 15 minute video on the life of Taft (which was extremely interesting). Then you take a 30 minute tour in the house. As some people have said - there aren't A LOT of things that were original to the house...but it was still very interesting to see! ...and it's FREE!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank KMSecrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family history!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I had no idea that Taft really didn't enjoy being President. He enjoyed his public service jobs more. I highly recommend the guided tour. There isn't much furniture and memorabilia from the family, however, the second floor has lots of history of the family.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank alinard530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
131 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Park Rangers know their stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The park rangers on staff were extremely knowledgeable about William Taft and his family and history. The house itself was a bit of a let down, however it was free of charge, so guess that makes it okay. There were only a few rooms that were actually furnished, which is something we like to see, period furnishings and that sort of thing. Other rooms housed pictures and historical facts about the Taft family, so if you're up to reading, then you should enjoy it. The first part of the tour is guided by park rangers, then you are left on your own to explore the remainder of the home. The video is detailed and well produced. Not sure that we'll return.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank snp51023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, MS
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Must see for Presidential Enthusiasts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I went to Cincinnati with my boyfriend. My 7 yr old son is a Presidential Enthusiast so i had to visit for him. They allowed me to video the rangers tour since my son was not there. The park rangers was very informed. The tour was entertaining.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jaime H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed William Howard Taft National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to William Howard Taft National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing