We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Awesome Recount of History”

William Howard Taft National Historic Site
Ranked #33 of 182 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Birthplace of America's 27th president, now a museum containing momentos of Taft's personal life and political career.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
98 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“An Awesome Recount of History”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is the house where William Howard Taft grew up. They still have items from his childhood and the house remains mainly untouched. This is maintained by the National Parks Department and is also a stop on the Passport stamp list. It is an excellent stop if you are in Cincinnati

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Meeganism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    65
    14
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio U.S.A
Level Contributor
150 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“a little boring!”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

we went in looked around and out the door we went! I have been to funeral parlors that had more life in it!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“a great place to learn about President Taft”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Our family learned a lot. We learned about his family, his career, his accomplishments and his contributions to US. We spent three hours there. We read every words in the exhibition. We enjoyed additional information came from rangers posted at the historial site.

We felt it was a wonderful place to visit.,

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenia, Ohio
Level Contributor
151 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“I like Presidential Sites”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is an excellent place to visit for anyone who likes Presidential history. I was a BIT disappointed in that most artifacts are not from Taft's Presidency, but this is because they are trying to maintain the home with furnishings that were specifically from the Ohio Taft family home rather than from the White House. Still it's worth the tour.

Helpful?
2 Thank Pete V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muldrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Small park, but interesting”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

It is a small park about 1.5 miles from downtown. I went on a Sunday morning and it was slow. Very informative about the Taft political family, house was interesting. I walked from downtown, but I don't recommend it. First you have to go through an "iffy" neighborhood; second, you have to walk up a steep hill for about .5 of a mile; drive, taxi or take bus 24. The historic site is free.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank redlandfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed William Howard Taft National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to William Howard Taft National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing