We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great art and Food to match”
Review of Taft Museum of Art

Taft Museum of Art
Ranked #25 of 186 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in a 175-year-old Federal building, this private art collection - one of the world's best - includes art from around the world, from 13th-century European sculpture to ancient Chinese porcelains to 17th-century European painting.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great art and Food to match”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

What better than a sunday at the Taft Museum and a delightful smoked trout open faced sandwich with fruit and veggies, followed by a one hour presentation by a 10 piece chamber orchestra playing music from World War One?
In a word? "Nothing"

As usual, great art followed by a delightful lunch outside followed by free music. This hidden treasure is downtown, off in a corner, so lovely. Also, free on sunday and has a great gift shop with truly unique items.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sluoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    75
    22
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Some of the best gifts come in small packages”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The in-house collection and special exhibits are wonderful. They make for a lovely few hours of art enjoyment and lunch, but it comes in a small package, and is over more quickly than you often desire.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia Parker S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia City, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful gem of a museum - wonderful donors”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We found this museum to be an amazing collection of art that had belonged to the brother and sister-in-law of President W.H. Taft. This couple collected the art both because they loved it, and they wanted serious art students in Cincinnati to be able to study the masters without having to go to Europe to do so. They made provisions so that after their deaths, the artworks would be preserved in a collection to be viewed by the public. This generosity of spirit was very moving. We probably spent at least 4 hours there - had not realized it would take that long - and we probably could have stayed longer if we had gotten there earlier.

Having been warned by an earlier reviewer, I was not surprised to find the museum guards trailing me in the museum, but I didn't find it disturbing, since I knew to expect it. I can't even imagine the value of those artworks, and they're right there in front of you. Being able to stand a foot away from a Rembrandt (which unfortunately was on loan and not there when we were) is worth the price of having a guard watching me.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DA_D512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a jewel”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Terrace Cafe is itself a work of art: lovely view of the terrace, which is wonderful to dine in when the weather is good. And you don't want to miss a look at the current exhibition.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“amazing paintings”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I wasn't sure about getting around in Cincinnati, but was able to walk from downtown just fine. I enjoyed the paintings the most - there was one by Monet's mentor, I believe in the dining room, that stuck out the most for me. Wonderful juxtaposition with the surroundings, antique furniture and Chinese vases. Beautifully preserved home. There was a comparison to the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum in Boston or the Frick in New York City, I would say it is closer to the Morgan in NYC, especially with the emphasis on the medieval works and then more contemporary pieces. The Taft is also on a MUCH smaller scale than those.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank cecesimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taft Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Taft Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing