We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Don't miss this ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taft Museum of Art

Taft Museum of Art
Ranked #20 of 154 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in a 175-year-old Federal building, this private art collection - one of the world's best - includes art from around the world, from 13th-century European sculpture to ancient Chinese porcelains to 17th-century European painting.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't miss this ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I accidentally found this place while walking around the downtown area and I was really pleased I did. I think it will really appeal to lovers of history and art, alike. It is worth the entry fee just to see the murals in the old entry foyer of the original house. I liked the history associated with the building and the art collection is really good and well curated. I especially liked the collection of ceramics. Beautiful. Staff were friendly and proud of the collection and eager to point out special things to look at. The cafe looked great, but I didn't indulge (shame!).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jamaican-Luck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    56
    18
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sunday FunDay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We attended the once/month FREE day (3rd Sunday of every month). Our 4 children (9, 8, 7 and 2) thoroughly enjoyed the hands on activities throughout the museum as they learned about the chinese new year. We all admired the extensive collections. The price was certainly right at FREE, but We would have gladly paid the admission price on any other day. The food smelled delicious as we walked through the cafe as well. We did not eat this time, but maybe next time! There will definitely be a next time. Friendly staff, great exhibits (current special exhibits are "African American art since 1950" and "Immortal vessels"), hands on learning and fun. What a great way to display this historical home!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 3mmmsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoiry, France
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice museum and exhibits ... but no children allowed.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Loved the Steichen exhibit. But unfortunately had a terrible museum experience with our 3 and 6 years old child. We couldn't make a step in the different rooms without being warned of the potential risk that our kids represented. Did they touch actually anything ? Did they actually dare to touch any of the beautiful paintings or piece of collectible furnitures ? Nop, not at all ... yes, they do speak louder and walk faster (not run) than the usual visitor, but are children doomed to be only accepted and respected in so called children's "museum" ? I wish not. Yes, even a 3 and a 6 year old child and their parents should be able to enjoy a decent art museum on a quite winter Saturday afternoon.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank arnaud c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always a great trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a beautiful museum. They have different traveling exhibits, so check the schedule. You must go here at least once. It's a great place to bring visitors as well.

Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kid friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My son went here with his school and he loved it. So now we go as a family. I thank they have a free day. Check it out cool place to visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taft Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Taft Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing