We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“beautiful treasure in Cincinnati” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taft Museum of Art

Taft Museum of Art
316 Pike St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)
513-241-0343
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 153 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in a 175-year-old Federal building, this private art collection - one of the world's best - includes art from around the world, from 13th-century European sculpture to ancient Chinese porcelains to 17th-century European painting.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“beautiful treasure in Cincinnati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I had lived here many years before visiting this lovely little gem of a museum. I loved the artwork, and there is a little cafe. It's a small place, doesn't take more than half a day to see, and is historic in every way. A must see.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    56
    17
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mitchell, Kentucky
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Loved The Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife & I absolutely loved the museum, and all the rooms were gorgeous. We had lunch there on a Sunday & it was very, very good. Service is excellent. A plus: free admission & parking on Sundays.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob3337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamisburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
194 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“If you got a free day, a couple of hours, please go or”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We went the last Sunday of the French Impressionists. First time here and loved that is is free on Sundays. This exhibit had approx. 45 paintings from Van Gogh, Pissarro,Monet and others., Short but Sweet. I like art, museums, hubby not so much. We went thru exhibit and went into the rest of the museum. This is a quick jaunt, but it is very beautiful and very unique. There are some very special pieces,,like a couple of Sargen's, chinese pieces, and the home is wow. Even hubby was impressed after walking thru the house. I wished we had taken advantage of the brunch in the museum, If you follow GPS to get there and you take 7th(whatever is north) street the museum is on a sharp left after turing corner and parking garage is under musuem. Cinncy is lucky to have this jewel. My not so art lover and I are going to be looking for special events and exhibits for our return.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank need2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lacking Focus”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The museum has been around since 1881 and has a large collection but in its attempt to be comprehensive it serves as more of an introduction than an indepth focus. The Asian art section is quite large, though many of the pieces are rather quotidian. The American art selections are a bit lacking in major figures. The recent addition of 6000 objects from the collection in a salon style presentation is a clever way of showcasing items that are rarely exhibited, but who stashes away an early van Gogh while displaying many substandard European Impressionist and Post Impressionist works? Strange.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernTravel30720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is among the most enjoyable art museums I've ever visited. The beautiful house rooms in which the art is displayed very much enhanced the enjoyment of the art itself. The art is carefully and thoughtfully arranged. The Chinese porcelains were particularly intriguing. Although there is an admission fee, it is waived on Sundays.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank annmarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taft Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Taft Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing