We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding glimpse of the future...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Summit

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Summit
Reserve with OpenTable
The Summit is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #300 of 1,952 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $35 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Clifton
Cross street: Ludlow / Hopple
Transit: Complementary Valet accessible at the corner of College Drive and Central Parkway. Follow the signs around the buildings, and the valet will take your car at the sidewalk to the entrance of our building. Garage parking at the Central parking garage adjacent to Central Parkway. Exit garage on the 5th floor.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Outstanding glimpse of the future...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This restaurant has only two full-time staff members: The chef and the front-of-house manager. The rest of the staff is students. The food & service are consistently very good, and the wine selection & pairings are inventive and interesting. The bar offers cocktails as well, and those are always eye-opening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vogelap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic service and the food was so delicious I can't wait to
go back. all and all an exceptional dining experience. Eight of us dined and we all loved it. fresh fish and the chocolate dessert was to die for

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kjyoung49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our first visit, and wow, we were impressed. The service was elegant and very professional, the atmosphere much nicer than expected, and the food outstanding. We enjoyed our reasonably-priced (by restaurant standards) bottle of pinot noir. My crabcake appetizer truly was the best crabcake I ever have tasted as well as a substantial portion. Husband's salad was beautifully plated and delicious. My entree of scallops with cheesy grits was perfectly cooked and sinfully delicious. Husband's entree of a cowboy ribeye steak was done as requested, and it filled his plate and had a wonderful flavor. After so much food and drink, we shared a dessert: chocolate pot au creme, and it was so yummy, a wonderful end to a superb dining experience. It is such a pleasure when both food and service excel. We shall return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cinti attorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paro, Bhutan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A true pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Summit has quickly become my favorite in Cincinnati since my wife surprised me with a wine pairing dinner there. Fantastic food cooked by the students, interesting menu and great special events. My favorite was a game wine pairing dinner.

A true asset to Cincinnati turning out chefs that will make the rest of the city have better food :)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GOP_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What's not to like”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Summit is an integral part of the Midwest Culinary Institute at Cincinnati State but the food & service are far from student cooking experiments. The Summit is one of the hidden jewels of Cincinnati dining. The menu is relatively short but full of fun with appetizers ranging from quail to poached pears. The special appetizer this time was lightly bleckened scallops on a bed of cheese grits--spoon licking good! The entre was a beautiful smoked lamb chop cooked to perfections. Desserts are excellent but we normally opt for the cheeseboard.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dbw45140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Summit also viewed

 

Been to The Summit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing