We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not clean and restaurant service was horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My family and I went for a weekend of baseball. I chose the hotel for several reasons. One being it had good rating. When we arrived the room was not up to par. The desk was clearly dirty, the shower head was broke and there was a hair on the toiletries in the room. When we went to breakfast at Caminetto the service was horrible. The sever asked if our breakfast was included in our room rate. When we told her no she shut down. It took forever for her to bring menus and she never offered one for my nine year old son. Once we actually got our food (we did not opt for the buffet) my eggs were raw. When I told the server she acted like I was being rude! I can say I will not stay at the hotel again. If you plan on visiting the city for a family vacation I would pay a little more and stay downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DENSFAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 287 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was your typical big hotel, but with lots of groups. They don't offer one thing extra or special even by their own descriptions. We kept saying, "Even Motel 6 gives you.....free coffee, wifi, air conditioning." Neither of us slept well on the hard bed with the weird AC that left the room stuffy. The bathroom was very small. In the morning, we found a box with some coffee stuff in it, but it was the same cheap stuff in every cheap motel in the US, except that they only give you ONE cup of regular coffee, and charge for anything more. I wouldn't stay here again. There's no pool, no jacuzzi, no free breakfast. Housekeeping played very loud music while she worked. There was free parking and it's pretty enough. And it's very close to the zoo.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LNunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed for two nights. Room was comfortable, clean, modern and a good size. Hotel seemed set up for business meetings. Shuttle service offered to nearby locations. Hotel staff were very pleasant although a little frazzled.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GardenG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Hotel was very accomodating and comfortable. The property is adjacent to the medical school and hospital, There are a few eateries within walking distance and the hotel will give you a ride to some other locations.

Room was excellent for working with a well designed desk area and a very comfortable corner chair.

Very quiet and the hotel was very accomodating on cleaning my room for a late morning meeting.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here for a night with my wife using Priceline. It was considered downtown Cincinnati but it's not close to downtown at all, very convenient to the University of Cincinnati though. Lobby was nicely appointed, rooms were large and clean, still felt like a newer hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trialex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Nothing stands out as particularly bad but then nothing is special here either. If you have business at the university or at a local hospital then it is a reasonable stay. Otherwise look elsewhere. The room was ok except for the C which was noisy and put out very humid sticky air. The shower had some problems but the water pressure was fine. no fridge, coffee maker or microwave which i now expect in most rooms. The room service was on time but the food quality is poor and the value very poor. WiFi is better then average. parking only costs 10 per night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakeCincinnati99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Booked the Kingsgate for early move-in to the University of Cincinnati for one of my daughters. It was a simple one-night stop for us. The facilities are right off the main campus, very clean and inviting and only marginally more expensive than it would have cost us to shop around for something cheaper but further from campus.
We like it enough that we're booked there for Parents Weekend this year.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that directly look into the office building next door if you at all like open drapes/nat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ti5029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#8 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#16 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati

Address: 151 Goodman Drive, Cincinnati, OH 45219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range: $151 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find extraordinary service, comfort and convenience at Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati. Located on the university campus, our hotel in Cincinnati, Ohio offers perfect accommodations for students and parents who are visiting. We are also close to several Cincinnati hospitals. An eco-friendly meeting choice, we offer green board rooms and venues for your next event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kingsgate Conference Hotel
Marriott Conference Center Cincinnati
Marriott Cincinnati
Cincinnati Marriott
Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center At The University Of Cincinnati Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing