We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with expensive parking.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2008

I got this hotel after I booked through Priceline. I got a great rate ($75 for Memorial Day weekend). This hotel is a typical Marriott in terms of quality----nice rooms, nice beds/linens, friendly, competent staff, nice workout facility. The hotel is spotless and well-maintained. It is located on the University of Cincinnati medical campus, only a 5-minute drive to the lovely UC main campus (which has been beautifully rehabbed/redesigned in recent years; I am a 1996 graduate of the school and I didn't even recognize the place, it had changed so much in 12 years).

The hotel is a good bargain for weekend stays and much nicer than many other comparable hotels in Cincy, since Cincy as a city and its many hotels are all getting very rundown and dingy. The main drawback of this hotel is the parking garage, which costs $15 a night (!) for parking. And there are really no other options for parking unless you want to park 2 blocks away on the street in a very bad neighborhood. (The dangerous Avondale neighborhood that borders UC is very, very bad). So even if you do get a good rate for the hotel, the cost of parking can cancel out any savings. But this was not a big deal in my case, since I am a Marriott Rewards member and a frequent guest at Marriott properties, which are almost always head and shoulders above their competition.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jillsephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 289 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for three nights while attending a conference downtown, choosing it over other Marriott properties due to previous reviews and its proximity to campus (U of Cin is a nice urban campus).

Check-in was painless, and other than forgetting to include parking fees upon check-out (fees are $15 a day, which seemed a bit high for not being in the downtown area), the front desk staff was pleasant and helpful.

The 7th floor room was typical Marriott quality, and done up in light colors. The fairly new, large screen LCD television was a pleasant suprise. The bathroom was particularly small. The room and grounds were very clean; as a university hotel that hosts many functions, I suppose that helps!

I utilized the restaurant and bar a few times, in part because you aren't close to other eating options without getting in your car and driving. Food quality was good, prices were what you might expect for Marriott ($12- breakfast buffet, $14 lunch buffet, $6-$12 for some bar food items) and the service was execellent. As noted in an earlier review, Elite Rewards members receive the breakfast buffet for free, so remember to tell them!

The hotel is a relatively quick ten-minute drive to the downtown area of the city (the concierge recommends taking Vine street all the way in - save yourself the trouble and use I-75), and there is a shuttle that runs every 20 minutes or so for those who lack a car and want to get around to the campus.

In summary, this is a nice option for Marriott fans who have either business on campus or who want to be close to downtown without being downtown. It doesn't have much character, and you are a bit limited without a car, but the facility and staff compensate for these shortcomings.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank djauntz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

Clean, newer hotel. Great breakfast in the morning. Bar was nice. Very nice lobby.

Check in staff were very helpful and quick.

The rooms were nice. Bathroom was a bit small which surprised me considering it was a newer property. I prefer larger bathrooms. Bed was very comfortable and everything was clean.

I was suprised, for a newer place, at the lack of Wifi but they had free plug in internet which was fine.

It took a long time to get a taxi to come out there to pick us up.

Overall, good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KingTito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

spent 2 nights at this marriott. location was convenient. room was very clean, great bed, great pillows. bath had great rain shower. room had clock radio with ipod dock.

had breakfast buffet.. it was good but overpriced at $12
there are many great restaurants just down the street on ludlow ave, less than a mile from the hotel. also, the hotel has a free shuttle within a 2 mile radius.

parking was expensive.

overall, very happy with hotel. front desk staff was excellent every time we talked to them.

try to get a corner room. you get almost 2X the square footage, and a fridge.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NavTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2006

Having wanted not to be driving on New Years Eve after indulging in libations , I booked this hotel in advance of New Years by 3 weeks. I live about 25 minutes from this hotel, and took a taxi to and fro my parties destination in the city of Cincinnati. I would not have picked this hotel, but due to the fact that this particular weekend was the infamous Bengals/Steelers game, all rooms according to hotel web sites that I normally would stay( 4 star or higher) were already taken. This was the highest star rating available that night for 3 1/2 stars. I booked this hotel directly through its' web page. I am a(or thought I was) a Marriotts rewards member, but I will tell you later of this. First, you can read the many travels and hotels I have stayed, and feel I am a pretty good source for this sort of information. So, I booked the hotel, and right away got a conformation of 1 room, higher floor, and a guaranteed king bed. As my girlfriend and I prefer a king, but a queen is fine, but since I had a choice, I picked a king. 1 week prior to our arrival, I received an email from this hotel, asking nicely if I had any requests. There were many boxes I could choose from, such as a morning paper, more towels, wake up calls, or even an area to write them back a request that didn't conform to the pre set checked box format. I checked that more towels box, and wrote back in the section, that I need transportation from the hotel to a local sushi club, that was having a high end New Years Eve party. Pressed the magic send button, and got a confirmation that it went through. I thought this was a nice touch from the Marriott. It was nice, but upon arriving, no one outside to valet the car.I was in a tux and didn't want to use the self park. No big deal, I parked it out front, locked it, and checked in, and they later had the car in valet. Upon checking in, they stated there were no king beds only 2 queens. Told them that the conformation stated "guaranteed king", even showed this to her, but to no avail. Not a big deal, but I felt if you guarantee it, and advertise it, one should expect it. I said ok, and was now up to the room. The hotel itself is in the middle of University of Cincinnati campus. Not the nicest neighborhood, but ok if not walking anywhere. I had mapquested directions, and figured I had an idea where it is, as I am from Cincinnati. Got lost twice trying to find this hotel, even had my navigation told me where it was and it was not taking me to this hotel, but got us close. I pulled over, and called the hotel, and stated I needed directions, and they got me there. There is a sign, no bigger than 4 by 10 feet by the hotel telling you"this is a Marriott". Hotel is spotless. Very friendly and nice business type bar. Typical rooms, closet space. No safes or mini bars but, the room and beds were very comfortable. I had answered their email prior to coming that I would like more towels, but no extra towels in room. Asked if my transportation was there as I had responded to their email concierge. Stated here are two cab companies,(handed my a one inch piece of paper with 2 cab #'s on it)that we could call.So...while standing in fron tof the front desk check in ...I used my cell phone and made the call. Front desk never acknowledged any of my requests, or never thought to say that they would at least call us a cab, as they dropped the ball from their solicitation of me in a kind email, but seems their concierge email was fluff. Nothing I had requested was even acknowledged. Got up the next morning, very good nights sleep as beds were comfortable, and bill under door. No big deal. All was correct, but the $25 valet surprised me knowing that this hotel is not to the class or area of the Omni's, Westins downtown. I just felt $25 to valet in a hotel 10 minutes from the city, tucked inside a college campus was stiff, but this was no big deal, nor did I say anything. Check out went fine, but told her to make sure I get Marriott rewards points for stay, and they informed me I wasn't a member. Told her I was, and have been getting emails as a Marriotts reward member for a long time. I don't carry my rewards number with me, so basically, she told me there was nothing they could do. Again...no big deal, but was getting frustrated. I am not one to complain, and if you read most of my reviews, you will fine this true. I am not hard to please, but was dissapointed in the service here. The hotel was nice for a business traveller, and was spotless. Very nice, and would probably stay here again...but would triple check everything before I left.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank brent a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2006

Very convenient to the U Cincinnati medical campus. Typical Marriott ambience including nice bedding. Extensive breakfast buffet that is free for Marriott Rewards members ($10.95 otherwise). Clean, comfy, large room. On-site gym, spa, and guest laundry. Free Internet.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BizTravlr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2005

This hotel has a very clinical feel to it. There is no atmosphere or ambiance, yet the rooms are ok. There is limited cable, the beds are comfy and you get lots of pillows (7 on a double bed). There is no fridge in the room, but basic coffee making facilities (although the milk they provided was off). There is no swimming pool to relax in, but there is a small but functionary excercise room. The breakfast buffet was good, and not too price ($9 inc. coffee and juice) and the hotel bar was ok. This hotel is nothing to write home about, but functional if all you want is a room.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kysersoze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#9 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati

Address: 151 Goodman Drive, Cincinnati, OH 45219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range: $142 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find extraordinary service, comfort and convenience at Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati. Located on the university campus, our hotel in Cincinnati, Ohio offers perfect accommodations for students and parents who are visiting. We are also close to several Cincinnati hospitals. An eco-friendly meeting choice, we offer green board rooms and venues for your next event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kingsgate Conference Hotel
Marriott Conference Center Cincinnati
Marriott Cincinnati
Cincinnati Marriott
Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center At The University Of Cincinnati Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing