We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good customer friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I like this hotel. It has a grey staff and good restaurants. People working here are friendly and helpful. High quality in all they do. Rooms were good and business friendly with lots of plugs. It is well worth the price

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
There are newer reviews for Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 282 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

Though this has the Marriott Hotel name, it is not at that level. Location is great for university/ health-related travel, but nothing else, as others have said.

Despite my Platinum reservation of a king room in an apparently uncrowded hotel, I was given 2 queens in a "handicap room":
--The toilet flushed so slooooowly and weakly that it could barely manage a single sheet of TP--I actually had to use the conference room toilets downstairs
--The "view" was of an expansive tar roof
--There was dramatic moaning from machinery on the other side of the bathroom wall
--Handicap bathrooms are often subpar for those who don't need accommodation: in this case, the sink counter was tiny, the outlets were across the room from it, and the shower, since detachable, was very weak

Internet and food were fine. The staff were friendly, but not really on the ball. The Starbucks shown as at the hotel is actually a 10-minute winding walk away, behind the cafeteria on the second floor of the hospital. My boarding passes were printed out across the lobby from the computer, at the front desk, where I discovered that the top portions had been cut off; I had to reprint them on another computer, in another direction--no big deal, but not up to Marriott Hotel-level.

Would NOT stay again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank leslie812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed at the Marriot Kingsgate in Cincinnati in September 2012 for business. I am a Marriott Platinum member. First for those Marriott members with status you should know that there is no concierge lounge there which seemed strange to me since this is a full service Marriott. They partially make-up for it by offering status members free breakfast in their restaurant which is very nice. They have cook-to order omelets and eggs. I did find myself missing the evening food and desserts that you normally received in a concierge lounge.
The hotel itself is very nice. Rooms are clean and typical Marriott. The bar is probably the best thing about this hotel. They have some great bartenders. I had some fun laughing with “Ken” at the bar one night.
The worst thing about this hotel is that there is nothing within walking distance. No restaurants, no bars, nothing. We did have a car and ventured out but to be honest, there really is not much within a short driving distance unless you want to drive downtown but with parking etc.. it was not worth it. If the hotel was directly downtown, that would be great but having to drive back downtown at night and find a place to park and then walk to downtown restaurants makes it inconvenient.
If you want to be close to the university then this is the hotel for you. If you are in Cincinnati on business and want a hotel that will be close to restaurants and other activities, this is not the hotel for you. In fact, some of the neighborhoods to one side of this hotel are not exactly friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mbateacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here for a family wedding. The venue was great for a wedding; area for cocktail hour, large banquet room, hotel bar that stayed open for an after-party, great food. Ideal, really. Especially with the friendly and accommodating staff.

The room itself was more like good to average, though. It was clean; the sudsy blue evidence of a freshly cleaned shower curtain greeted me at shower time. There was wifi in the room, although the signal was weak all the way on the 6th floor. The bed was comfortable and inviting.

A note to allergy sufferers, the bedding and pillows are filled with down so be sure to ask for your room to be made up with synthetic. There was a synthetic comforter in the closet, along with one synthetic pillow (a somewhat lumpy undesirable one). We asked for a second synthetic pillow at the desk and were obliged, and that one was in better shape.

The surrounding area consisted of hospital buildings, the coroner's office, maybe some university buildings. Not a place to walk around to see anything of interest. There really wasn't even any nearby places to eat, seemed like you had to go at least a half mile away.

What I really disliked was that the garage parking was not free ($10.00/day), even though the garage was virtually empty and the hotel has its own section in the garage.

I'd stay here again based on the room, cleanliness, staff, etc. But for a more exciting stay in Cincinnati I'd stay somewhere closer to the downtown, not in the university vicinity.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is one of the most overlooked hotels in Cincinnati in my view. Bordering the University of Cincinnati and serving as a conference hotel relationship with the university, this six or seven story hotel is very attractive, quiet (the days I was there), and the breakfast (they gave me coupons - not sure if that is normal) was probably the best I have ever had at a hotel. Fresh raspberries, blueberries, blueberries, strawberries (not frozen like at Hampton) omelet station, and just everything you could want. Breakfast was in the dining room or on a terrace overlooking a big fountain and park. The room was not new but well kept and very nice. They have a van to take you places and I ran in parks nearby. It may not exactly suit others' needs in this location but it was perfect for me.

Room Tip: Get a view of the fountain and park behind the hotel. DO NOT miss the breakfast! wow, and ask for a...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimjade3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip when the Marriott in Town was full. For $250 per night ( with tax) and no really good access to town, it made for a very boring, way to expensive trip! Took 1/2 hour to get a Taxi, no pool, work out room is spartan! Bar is DEAD. Don't walk two blocks the wrong way or you may be invited to Pit Bull fights or street barbeques!!!!! Rooms were clean, but not that nice! May be good for university related activities but not really a bargin for a business trip. STAY in downtown Cinci!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2ndamendment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Only there one night as we were doing a visit to the University of Cincinnati. Hotel very conveniently located to the Univ. Staff was very welcoming and polite. Room was newly renovated which was really nice. Everything was clean and or new. Daughter had the breakfast buffet which had a very large selection of food but staff came over to make sure she found what she wanted. Offered me a cup of coffee even though I was not having breakfast. Needed help with finding a building on the campus map and staff was willing to help out. If we do go back we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#9 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#16 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,110 reviews
Central Business District
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati

Address: 151 Goodman Drive, Cincinnati, OH 45219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range: $167 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find extraordinary service, comfort and convenience at Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati. Located on the university campus, our hotel in Cincinnati, Ohio offers perfect accommodations for students and parents who are visiting. We are also close to several Cincinnati hospitals. An eco-friendly meeting choice, we offer green board rooms and venues for your next event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kingsgate Conference Hotel
Marriott Conference Center Cincinnati
Marriott Cincinnati
Cincinnati Marriott
Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center At The University Of Cincinnati Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing