We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“One of a Kind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terry's Turf Club

Terry's Turf Club
Ranked #19 of 1,878 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
226 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“One of a Kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Terry's Turf Club is a Cincinnati institution:  funky, irreverent and unique.  Surprisingly, despite having lived in Cincinnati for over 30 years, this was my first visit.  On previous attempts, I was discouraged by the long lines and lengthy wait times.

Located in a so-so part of town, the restaurant is small.  Don't be surprised if you are asked to share a table.  Humorous signs decorate the yard as well the inside of the restaurant, giving it a bit of a carnival atmosphere.  The restaurant is busy.  Be prepared to wait, but the wait is worthwhile.

The menu is surprisingly varied, with some sophisticated selections, such as Iberian ham, foie gras and specialty cheeses, which I would not have expected in a "burger joint".  

Try the filet mignon burger, their signature dish.  Expensive but good.  It is prepared with lettuce, tomato, pickle, banana peppers and a bernaise sauce.  Unless you are starving, there is enough for two persons.  The filet mignon chili is  also to die for.

The atmosphere is unique, the staff polite and prompt and the food is great.  Terry's Turf Club is a worthwhile stop on any Cincinnati culinary tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DoctorPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    100
    48
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A diamond in the rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Attended a conference in Cincinnati last week, and was looking for a odd place to eat. Found this to be the only Triple D restaurant in Cinci. I brought my co-workers along for the trek over the Terrry's. Neighborhood was a bit run down and had some concern amongst the group. Pulled up, and the place glowed brightly on the run down area. We waited for about 10 min. on a Monday night. Everyone was amazed at the atmosphere of the place. Sat down and tried to figure out the menu and what exactly was the best things to order on our burgers. We all tried the different options and was hoping it would be good as advertised.
Food came on a paper plate, but that was cool. Burgers were big and looked very juicy. The taste was awesome and the toppings were very quality like cheese, bacon, etc. Everyone was amazed on how good the food was. Probably one of the best Triple D restaurants that I have been to. I decided to try out the Filet Mignon chili, but had to save it for the next day since I was so full. Everyone was so please with Terry's, that we almost brought a customer there the next day.

FYI
The filet mignon chili was still really good the next day!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DieHardCubFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic Burgers and Fun Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Best "build-your-own-burger" in town! You will definitely get filled up with one of these! Customize your burger with a variety of cheeses and toppings, including their special cheese sauce. One person in our party got a crab cake on top of his burger! Burgers start at $8.95 for a plain burger and most toppings are $2-3. Our bill for four people, four burgers with fries, an appetizer and four soft drinks came to $80....and worth every penny. Atmosphere is funky and fun with neon signs everywhere inside and out. If you are going at night you will see it long before you get there. Plenty busy when we where there, so be prepared for a wait. Cramped seating, peanuts on the table and good service once you are inside. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NKY_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really impressed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We went on a Tuesday at opening (4:00) and luckily we were hungry. No wait. Burgers are huge! Really liked the food and atmosphere. Also my boys LOVED throwing peanut shells on the ground and making a mess. It was a hit!!! Bit pricy but worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mistie1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous atmosphere and burgers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I loved the "real" people serving us and the burgers were excellent! It was our first time visiting and we were treated very well.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terry's Turf Club also viewed

 

Been to Terry's Turf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing