We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful walk through a very historic place! Who knew?”

Spring Grove Cemetery & Arboretum
Ranked #3 of 182 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful walk through a very historic place! Who knew?”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Worth the stop to walk or drive. Stop in the office to pick up the information packet and map! History and beauty all in one stop! Great walking on tree lined paths. Who knew this was the #1 place to see in Cincinnati? We found out! A great place for photos in any season.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maggie215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    92
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“More than just a Cemetery!!!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This was truly a wonderful day trip. Be advised the area is a bit rough but the actual cemetery/ arboretum is amazing! The grounds are so well kept and looking at the different headstones and admiring the skill went into them was like being in an outdoor museum! It's great to picnic in as well. I went with two co-workers (one was from Germany and she was surprised we were going to spend our day there. But once she was how beautiful it was the shock died down) My advice, bring good walking shoes, a camera, water bottle maybe a packed lunch if you plan on staying there for more than an hour or so. As far as I know they do not sell any food at the cemetery. I would love to go back just for some nice quiet time it's truly amazing!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank carnationnation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
662 reviews
216 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I love touring cemeteries ... Detroits historic cemetery is really amazing, this is a close second.. Wooded.. Sprawling... Rolling hills... Maybe not quite as ornate headstones as in some, but they are there... Just a bit spread out here and there

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sonny_circumvehor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grassy Creek, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“It was awesome”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This cemetery with the snow covered grounds and trees were beautiful, I can only imagine how it would look during the summer!!!! My husband and I walked the grounds until we got to cold, so the rest we did in our car, stopping, looking, taking pictures and admiring the surroundings. This is definitely worth visiting.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Visit-Welcome Center/Directions”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Welcomed at Spring Grove Avenue Main gate with security on arrival. Maps and Loved ones located and maps provided. Great directions, and a good visit. The manicured condition of the resting palace was impressive. Mass grave from the University of Cincinnati School of Medicine located and well maintained. Very nice and peaceful. Thanks.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spring Grove Cemetery & Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Spring Grove Cemetery & Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing