We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Historic and Scenic Cemetary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spring Grove Cemetery & Arboretum

Spring Grove Cemetery & Arboretum
Ranked #3 of 171 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Historic and Scenic Cemetary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a beautiful place to walk or drive through. The trees and plants and monuments are magnificent. Spring brings the flower display and Fall brings the colorful leaf change. It is a horticulturists paradise! Even though it is a cemetary the attraction is more the scenery or plantings, monuments and water features. Many famous, historic or notable Cincinnatians are buried here.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    85
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Even if you do not have any loved ones to visit here - it is worth the drive through the cemetery. Stop by the administration bldg and grab a map for the historic portion is fantastic and I was in awe. We actually went to find a loved one & had some difficulty; an employee who had finished his shift stopped and helped us & was the nicest person.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Egoldy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This may sound weird but its a great place to visit. Driving around and seeing the beautiful gardens and the famous names is one thing everyone in Cincinnati needs to do. Amazing

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Epidural96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Beautiful to visit! Colors are amazing, especially in with the spring flowers, fall colors or after a snow storm. I would like to test out the 5k run here.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zincy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Not your typical tourist destination”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This cemetery is one of the most beautiful I have seen. It contains all of the trees found in the state I've been told. There are numerous water features, ponds fountains, miniature churches, mausoleums and historic graves all set in a rolling enclosed area that makes you feel miles from anywhere.
It is a great place to ponder history, walk , bike , and especially to paint or draw.In the fall the colors are spectacular.
There are many points of interest that can be sough out if you stop by the front office.
I think this would be a really interesting place for kids as well, to see how the dead were treated in past times. I include my favorite point of interest here, " The Man with the glass Eyes" it is on the site labeled "100".
Take a look at the attached photos to get a sense of how startling this bust can be at close range.
There are many other finds just as unusual, if you have an hour or two this place will not disappoint.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug1155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spring Grove Cemetery & Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Spring Grove Cemetery & Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing