We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Cincinnati
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Reviewed November 8, 2012

generally not as clean or nice as most Westin hotels. the hotel is part of a larger office building. as some other reviewers have indicated, there were homeless people throughout the lobby. security was limited at best. i would not want my wife or daughter staying there by themselves. although a key was required to operate the elevator, it was >20 meters from the 'hotel lobby' which is poorly defined because it is part of the larger office building.

room was nice and clean as expected. i would stay there again for business given the caveats above.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,110)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Cincinnati
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

734 - 740 of 1,111 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was my first time in Cincinnati for a business trip with several colleagues. The hotel is in need of a renovation and the neighborhood is not great. One thing about the stay was really outstanding, which was Julie at the front desk. She was incredibly helpful, kind, and professional. She went out of her way to help with recommendations for restaurants and any other suggestions I asked for (e.g. best hair salon in Cincinnati for a haircut.) I checked in on Thursday and needed a reservation for 10 colleagues on Saturday evening- somewhere with good food and a good atmosphere that was also reasonably priced. She recommended her favorite restaurant, Jimmy G's, and called the owner immediately to arrange a great table for us. The experience was wonderful- everything Julie promised, and more- great place with great food, good service, and reasonable prices. It was also close to the hotel. This was my first time visiting Cincinnati and my colleagues were really impressed that I found such an excellent place. Julie's colleague, Elly, was also helpful and friendly. Two of the other front desk staff members were not as friendly or helpful, and you could really see the difference. During Julie and Elly's time off from work, several times there was no one at the desk at all. The hotel itself is in need of a renovation- the rooms are tired and it is a shame that you cannot open the windows. They should also have some security in the lobby--many people who were not guests at the hotel were in the lobby soliciting my colleagues for money.

Room Tip: choose a room on a higher floor with a view of fountain square
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank world_traveller21209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just wanted to recognize the great work of Julie. As a regular traveler and frequent visitor of the Westin Cincinnati, it's always refreshing to see a friendly face at the counter and to receive exceptional service. She's knows me by name, gives me a warm greeting, and starts confirming my preferences (which she already knows). I especially appreciate how she works through any needs I have on current and future reservations. The answer may not always be the one I want, but I feel she's working on my behalf to come up with a solution.

Just wanted to call our her great work and let you (and her) know what a difference she makes!

Thanks --

Lynn N
Starwood Platinum

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank LANeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice hotel room. Comfy bed. Bathroom is small but room is nice size and has a refrigerator and a safe. No restaurant. Parking garage is not great. Staff of the garage not helpful and you must pay in advance via a machine. We did not have ant problems but witnessed many who did.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missqueenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was a quest for an International Conference, I was amazed at the poor level of this Westin. There were homeless begging for money as soon as we got to the door. No one from Westin did anything, they were sleeping in the lobby. The rooms were disgusting, elevators dirty, mold in the bathroom. The staff just didn't seem to care about anything when I complained about the "bums" the front desks comment was " yeah I know we just don't have enough security". Not one member of the conference will ever stay at this WEstin.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarheel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is fantastic! Great location, friendly attentive staff, beautiful clean rooms. The work out facility is very nice. Julie at the front desk was amazing and really made our stay perfect! We have stayed there twice for leisure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here for a week for a series of meetings.

Pros:
- Best bed EVER. So comfortable that getting up in the morning was a challenge for me.
- Good location. An 8-minute walk to our office. Also right across the street from Fountain Square's restos, ice cream shops, the dancing and music...

Cons:
- WiFi wasn't free.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the fountain/square. :)
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HAnnah Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#9 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,331 reviews
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#18 of 51 in Cincinnati
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Central Business District
Millennium Cincinnati
Millennium Cincinnati
#37 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cincinnati

Address: 21 E 5th St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-3114
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#12 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#16 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range: $161 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cincinnati 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking historic Fountain Square and located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati, Ohio, The Westin Cincinnati is the perfect destination for both leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cincinnati Hotel Cincinnati
Westin Cincinnati
Cincinnati Westin
The Westin Cincinnati Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing