We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unforgettable Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cincinnati

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Cincinnati
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An Unforgettable Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Of course, it was December when I visited and the hotel was decked out in Christmas decorations in every direction. The check in was flawless, the valet service was fast and the bellman was simply superb (Craig)!!! The staff at the desk even did a google search (printed it) to help me to another destination. The room (2 beds) was spacious and well appointed. The location allowed me to walk and shop at places like Macy's as well as other shops. There were MANY nice restaurants on either side of the hotel to enjoy. I will stay there when I go back in July and any other time!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Empress30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    316
    144
    54
    39
See reviews for
170
260
51
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I've averaged 3-5 stays per year here for the last 7 years - and the hotel has slowly morphed from excellent to a poor representation of an otherwise solid brand.

I regularly have to call Service Express to have my complimentary coffee and waters refilled. Wake-up calls are not always delivered. And most recently, a staff member ignored my 'Do Not Disturb' sign at 7pm while I was taking a nap to deliver an invitation intended for another guest.

Obviously - certain elements of the Westin can't be hampered by inattentive staff - so props on the Heavenly bed and two shower heads. Unfortunately quality hotels are lacking in downtown Cincinnati, but given my frustrated stays in recent years, I'm reconsidering spending my company's money here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RafflesKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

My son attends Xavier university in Cincinatti and i usually stay at the Springhill Eden Park. For some reason on this weeknd they wante 180 for a room. I called the Westin to see what they could do with my Starwoods points. For 1009 points I got a room for 150 a night. This is usually a 350 per nite hotel..Great location right across from Fountain Square which is so pretty lit up at night. A few blocks fro the freeway entrance within walking ditance of great restaurants the museum of contemparary art and it has an indoor walkway to Macys and Saks.
The breakfast downstairs was reasonable has a Starbucks is clean fast and obviously a stop for people working downtown, Good Indian food at Akash and great Mexican at Nada both nearby.Good sushi at Mr Sushi which has really become popular.
The room was modern clean and quiet but the bed felt old not like a heavenly bed that I know. Still had decent sleep. Will stay again but will not pay the full price

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

I used to live in Cincinnati and always considered this centrally located hotel a nice place. In fact, I held my wedding reception at this hotel. But when I came back this year for Thanksgiving to visit my family, I was very disappointed.
Our room needs updating, the heater was so loud we had to turn it off, neither phone worked, no hair dryer, and you can hear street noise on the 15 th floor.
The only good thing is the bed.
Also note that valet parking is $28/ day and you can self park ( and get your car faster) for $15/ day.
They still nickel and dime guests for wifi and breakfast at "ingredients",while good, is a cafeteria style place.
Quite a shame as I am a fan of Starwood and generally like Westins. This one is past it's prime and desperately needs a remodel. Stay at the Cincinnatian.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmdidday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
177 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I've been staying at the Westin in Cincinnati for almost 15 years. For me, it's the only place that I'd stay. Location is very central for business at almost all of Cincinnati's big corporations -- in fact walkable (I wouldn't rent a car if staying at the hotel).

Rooms are very spacious -- though even as an SPG Platinum, I've never received an upgrade (hence four stars instead of five stars). And of course clean, well-equiped and functional.

Also a great location for dining out. Plenty of options within even a block or two.

Room Tip: Tough to say. So far, no upgrades for SPG Platinums.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank drosen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellburg West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We just recently stayed at the Westin and everything was excellent. The personell were very accomodating and friendly. The room was spacious and very clean, and the matress and pillows were the best we've ever experienced in any hotel we've stayed.....loved the bathroom as well. Both the room and the bathroom are very spacious which we loved. We also had a wonderful view of the town square and fountain. Breakfast was very good and we would definitely return.We were there for the Cincinnati Bearcats game.Zach Collaros, a former student is the quarterback....great young man!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PFerguson048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I stayed at the Westin one night on Saturday and it was one of the best hotel stays I have been apart of. The staff and the room were outstanding and by all means I would recommend this hotel, no matter what your occassion.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAC937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#12 of 51 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 875 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#3 of 51 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#15 of 51 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cincinnati

Property: The Westin Cincinnati
Address: 21 E 5th St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-3114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#12 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#16 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cincinnati 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking historic Fountain Square and located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati, Ohio, The Westin Cincinnati is the perfect destination for both leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cincinnati Hotel Cincinnati
Westin Cincinnati
Cincinnati Westin
The Westin Cincinnati Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing