We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located, comfortable hotel, convenient for business in downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cincinnati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Cincinnati
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Centrally located, comfortable hotel, convenient for business in downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Very nice, modern hotel, centrally located. Across the street from Fountain Square and adjacent restaurants and clubs. Easy walk to bunch of decent restaurants. Pleasant service and people in the hotel. Would easily stay for business again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldgreywolfVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    321
    150
    54
    40
See reviews for
173
264
53
355
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel is okay. Do I think it is worth the price? No. Let me start with a list of cons and then my pros. If you think my cons are picky, remember this is supposed to be a 4 star hotel, so I do expect at the least cleanliness.
~Cons:
1.*Reception area is located on second floor-just odd layout imho
2.*Elevator troubles-plan on waiting when you use the elevator, not for a few seconds, but 8-10 minutes most times
3.*Elevator Broken-when leaving to take elevator down to parking lot, surprise! Elevator Broken! Have fun hauling your own luggage back through the hotel maze
4.*Stain located on curtains-I'm just not a fan of stains in hotels-if this does not bother you, then winner, winner chicken dinner!
5.*Stain also on lamp shade (see above note)
6.*Stingy with towels-but was able to score more when I heard cleaning crew in hall.
7.*Stingy with bottled water. They want $3/water in room. I do not like being nickel/dimed when I stay somewhere. If I have paid x price, then I want that included.
~Pros:
1.*Fun location-was able to walk to great restaurants nearby, Fountain area across street-if you enjoy music & a pretty view, request fountain side, if you don't, request opposite.
2.*Comfy enough beds-I wasn't blown away by this, then again I have a TempurPedic at home, but it was sufficient.
3.*View from room (facing Fountain area)
4.*Indoor room fridge
To sum up, if I were you and looking for a nice place to stay with above average cleanliness and ambiance, I would keep looking. The Cincinnatian is nice & nearby. If I happened upon this property via value website & got I good deal, I wouldn't look away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Funtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Across from the Carew Tower (go to the observation deck for the best city view) and Fountain Square. Easy walk to the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center and the Suspension Bridge.
Starbuck's in the room. Only problem we saw was that there was no waste receptacle near the elevators, so there was trash around on the tables by the elevators (and weren't cleaned up for a couple of days). Purchased the room package which included breakfast (voucher for $25 from hotel restaurant Ingredients), which ended up costing less than separately purchasing. Save a few dollars by self-parking underneath the hotel; plan your outings so that you leave and return once per day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nenigma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at the Westin Cincinnati while attending my friend's wedding that weekend. The hotel is located downtown next to some really good restaurants and Macys. The room was clean, and had all the amenities we expected from a Westin including a pool on the top floor.
My only issue with the hotel was the lack of parking. When baseball games are going, all the parking in the downtown area gets full so the only option for those staying at the hotel is to valet it. I really think they should have some self-serve parking for the guests. Not only was it an added expense, our car was across the street and with traffic it took over 10 minutes to get our car.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here with a special rate found online for 2 nights. Extremely comfortable bed. Awesome double headed shower, gorgeous bathroom and spacious room. Extremely clean and modern. Across the street from the main square where there is constant activity. Great location to walk to restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IlovetheCaribbeannow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Excellent hotel. I stayed here four nights for business and it was extremely comfortable, as most Westins are. I was on the preferred floor and the room was well appointed and extra large. The bed was the best Westin bed I've been in. The hotel's location is great and having not been to Cincinnati before, I was unexpectedly impressed. The hotel is across the street from Fountain Square which has restaurants surrounding it and there was a band and even dancing each night. It would also be convenient to stay there when attending Reds or Bengals games, maybe a 10 minute walk to both stadiums. I would highly recommend staying here for any reason, business or leisure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TennesseeTraveler057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I have been staying at the hotel every week while traveling on business. If it weren't for the Starwood points, I would probably go elsewhere. There is nothing terribly wrong, but overall, it just isn't as nice as the price would suggest. Rooms facing Fountain Square on lower levels can be loud. Also, I have had to go back to the front desk at the beginning of multiple stays after being assigned a room with a strong cigarette odor (despite the hotel-wide non-smoking policy). The front desk staff isn't rude, but they are also not as eager to help as at some other hotels.

This hotel is fine, but there are better options in terms of value and service nearby (Cincinnatian and Hilton, in my opinion).

Room Tip: Avoid low-floor rooms on the Fountain Square side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aw215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#12 of 50 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 938 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#4 of 50 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#15 of 50 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Central Business District
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cincinnati

Property: The Westin Cincinnati
Address: 21 E 5th St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-3114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#12 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#16 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cincinnati 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking historic Fountain Square and located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati, Ohio, The Westin Cincinnati is the perfect destination for both leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Starwood and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cincinnati Hotel Cincinnati
Westin Cincinnati
Cincinnati Westin
The Westin Cincinnati Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing