We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it”

Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden
Ranked #2 of 186 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This second oldest zoo in the U.S., considered one of the best in the country, is most renowned for its endangered species and birthing programs, particularly for gorillas and white tigers, and has a wonderful collection of felines and a delightful manatees exhibit.
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My two year old loved this zoo. It was difficult to follow the map at times and we hit several dead ends. But it was great and it was immensely hot that day so I was pleased to see so many drink places.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CGS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,950
    635
    153
    35
    36
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flint, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Expect to spend a whole day”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I am a lover of zoos, and so are my kids. We planned to visit the zoo on the day we left for home, expecting to spend 2-3 hours. Unfortunately we had to get on the road before we got to see everything but it was great! A nice man gave us wristbands to ride the train, that was fun. The animal enclosures were very good, and they were well taken care of. The flowers were beautiful as well! If you like zoos, this one is a must.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wild Cat Country, KY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Smaller than Columbus, but a nice little zoo.”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The zoo was lovely to walk through... plants and greenery everywhere. It was not crowded around midday. I have been to the Columbus Zoo several times, and although I enjoyed the Cincinnati Zoo, I prefer the Columbus Zoo. The Cincinnati Zoo provides more shade and a more leisurely walking environment on a hot day. However, it is smaller with less animals, and it is on a mountainous terrain. The Columbus zoo has less shade, but it is larger with more animals and also an aquarium. I would recommend this zoo if you are in the area. It is kind of neat that the zoo itself dates back to the 1800's.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tommy_N_Goldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great zoo. New exhibits but lots of hills!”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Great new exhibits allow you to see animals up close. Alot to see and do. Almost impossible to see everything in one day. Only downfall I can think of is that the food and drinks there are very expensive but you are allowed to bring your own food and drinks in if you want. There are alot of hills and can make for a tough day if its hot outside.

Helpful?
Thank savvycade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of the Best!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you're in town, it's a great visit for anyone. They go out of their way to ensure you have a good experience. Children's petting zoo, inside theatre, lots of local foods to taste and wonderful photo opportunities.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing