We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hallo(wee)n Wednesday fun”

Cincinnati Art Museum
Ranked #5 of 178 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most prestigious art museums in the country, with over 100,000 works of art, this grandiose building atop an Eden Park hill, is well-known for its 19th-century European and American paintings, but also contains numerous other works including an outstanding pottery gallery.
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hallo(wee)n Wednesday fun”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Wanted to find fun activities for grandchildren that was not "scary" ! This fit the bill and the kids really enjoyed it. There were storytelling stations and craft stations. Although they could only appreciate some of the art, mostly the statues, the atmosphere was just perfect and the volunteers were very friendly and took time to engage each child who wanted to participate. This was a free event too! Parking $4.00 if you wanted to be right at the front parking lot. We chose to walk as we saw others walking and it turned out to be a mini parade.( it was a short walk).

If they repeat this event next year and you have little ones, I would strongly suggest this event.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    194
    19
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
163 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Place to Visit”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Over the weekend I had a chance to visit this museum. I hadn't been there is years and forgot what a wonderful place it is. I would highly recommend it. It's pretty good size, so allow several hours. There are self-guided tours, or you can get a map of the museum to see specific things. Admission is free and parking in the lot next to the museum is $4.00. Or there is a free parking lot at the bottom of the hill. The museum is located in the Mt. Adams part of Cincinnati. It's difficult to get there. Using a GPS device will help. you.

Helpful?
Thank Sherlock6142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Iconic works in tasteful galleries”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

This museum houses spectacular pieces of art grouped in ways that showcase their excellence. Prestigious painters like Picasso and Monet are displayed. The dynamism of the collection is exceptional and I cannot say enough good things about it. The building itself is classically beautiful and has a wonderful wood paneled room showcasing 17th and 18th century European works I loved. The attention to detail in the creation of galleries and their grouping was exacting. Also, I was very impressed with the special exhibition "6000 Years of Art," which displayed many of the Museum's items normally in storage. Seeing extensive collections of things such as ancient Egyptian artifacts to American Indian items reinforced that the Museum's collection is extremely impressive. I was left with nothing but great things to say about this free museum.

Helpful?
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
“Fantastic museum!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great museum with a solid collection; Great American paintings and the open storage that shows works from the various departments in a single space is fantastic.


Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank srrsrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malinta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply great”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The museum is beautiful. It has a great collection. I was so impressed by the organization of the time periods. I was so excited to see some artists I teared up a little. The staff was so happy to be there as well. They could read us so well and knew just where everything was.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cincinnati Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing