We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What luck”

Cincinnati Art Museum
Ranked #5 of 175 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most prestigious art museums in the country, with over 100,000 works of art, this grandiose building atop an Eden Park hill, is well-known for its 19th-century European and American paintings, but also contains numerous other works including an outstanding pottery gallery.
Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What luck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

This is a wonderful art museum that is just outside Mt. Adams, so make a day of it! You'll get lost in here, and there are plenty of events held here too.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    192
    19
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mendocino, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marvelous!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

They had a Monet exhibit going on when I visited...and who doesn't like Monet, right? "The Water Lilies" was the main attraction, although the permanent collection of the Cincinnati Art Musuem - including Gainesborough, Hogarth, Picasso, and others, is quite impressive. It is free on Sundays.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Art Museum one of my favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

I grew up running to the Art Museum. Use to run in to get out of the rain or if the sun was too hot, so I learned early to appreciate all the things is has to offer. This is hours of new things, as there is all the collections the museum owns as well as all the special showings and events. There is a theater and cafe, a nice statue garden to enjoy espcially when they have live music. And to top it all off, it's in a City Park with a couple of overlook areas of the river, a flower house (conservatory) and other things right outside it's doors. It was my backyard as a kid, and now it is still one of my favorite outtings.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“IT MAY NOT BE THE KING ALBERT & QUEEN VICTORIA MUSEUM IN LONDON”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

but it's wonderful in it's self. I love to go when it's showcasing someone like DaVinci. sSSSSSOOOO cool to walk thru and get to see app thenook and crannies.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice art collection for a pleasant art sampling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Very pleasant museum of human size; easy to navigate for all family members. Offers a nice variety of art and temporary exhibitions. Interesting collection of Midwest artists and pioneer:frontier paintings (including many pieces donated by P&G); Free admission and excellent restaurant as nice bonuses :)

Helpful?
Thank SalvadoFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cincinnati Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing