We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone - and don't miss the Diana exhibit!”

Cincinnati Museum Center
Ranked #22 of 199 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Union Terminal is currently closed due to construction activity. Our Duke Energy Children's Museum reopens May 4, 2018. Other areas will start to come back online in phases starting Fall 2018.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I recently made my second trip to this one-of-a-kind museum, and my repeat experience was just as good as the first time around. There are many positive things to say about the Cincinnati Museum Center. The building itself is the old Cincinnati train station, and it alone is worth a visit simply for its stunning art deco design. Inside, you will find that the center is actually multiple museums all rolled into one. There is a Natural History section, a section on Cincinnati History, and a Children's Museum. They also host some unbelievable traveling exhibits. Two years ago, I ventured to the museum in order to see a very unique collection of artifacts all the way from Pompeii. I never dreamed I'd see artifacts excavated from the Italian lava field and actual body-casts on display in Midwest, USA! The Princess Diana exhibit is just as amazing! The collection includes pictures and video clips from throughout her life, including her life before she became an international figure. It is fascinating to look at the toy typewriter that she used as a child, read her grammar school report card, and gaze at old family photographs. That little girl could never have dreamed of the life she would come to live! There are letters written by Diana, a few items of jewelry, and, of course, the dresses (including her impressive wedding dress). The different charitable organizations that she supported are also highlighted throughout the exhibit. It is a very tasteful display.

Thank Lulu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CincyMuseum, Digital Engagement Intern at Cincinnati Museum Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Hello Lulu!
Thank you so much for visiting the museum and posting a review! We love hearing how much our visitors enjoy their time here, and we are just as glad you had a pleasant experience as well! Come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"union terminal"
in 150 reviews
"omnimax theater"
in 81 reviews
"natural history"
in 76 reviews
"ice age"
in 42 reviews
"omni max"
in 33 reviews
"art deco"
in 83 reviews
"star wars"
in 16 reviews
"all ages"
in 109 reviews
"train display"
in 39 reviews
"traveling exhibits"
in 43 reviews
"tree house"
in 23 reviews
"duke energy"
in 17 reviews
"water area"
in 18 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 36 reviews
"rainy day"
in 25 reviews
"special exhibit"
in 25 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 23 reviews
Filter

925 - 929 of 1,587 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

We went to see the last place Lady Diana's Wedding Dress, other dresses, crown and personal items were going to ever be on display, the exhibit has been on tour for 11 years. It was a Wow Factor to see her items. This was the first time we had been to the Museum and loved it. We also had time to tour the museum of Natural History and go thru a mock up of a cave.........it really made you feel like you were under the ground. The area was very clean and colorful. We had a sandwich and pizza, both good and reasonable, plus ice cream at the parlor. We did not have any small children with us this trip, but the kids play area is fantastic! A must see for a family outing to Cincinnati......

Thank Dewey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CincyMuseum, Digital Engagement Intern at Cincinnati Museum Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Hi Dewey!
So glad to hear you were pleased with your experience at the museum! Thanks for your visit and we hope you’ll be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We take our kids ages 13,10, and 4 to this place once every year. It takes us an hour and 1/2 to get there from where we live, but it's definitely worth the drive. Our kids love going! We've been to several children's museums all over the eastern side of US- we all agree this one is our favorite. We usually do all 3 museums. This last time we went, we kind of rushed through them and it still took us 3 hours.. This place is huge! Your younger kids will have a wonderful time in the children's museum. It has so many fun activities with lots of hands on fun! Also, It is $6 for parking. If you have never been.. GO! It is definitely a fun time.

Thank RosemountChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CincyMuseum, Digital Engagement Intern at Cincinnati Museum Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for your positive comments about Cincinnati Museum Center! We are ecstatic to hear you and your family enjoyed your time at the museum! Thanks so much for posting a review and we can’t wait to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We are a members of the Cincinnati Museum center for the last couple of years. We do it mainly for our small daughters, so they could have a place to play during winter when it's brutally cold outside.

Beyond the children museum, there are other two museums in the complex, and there is also the only IMAX theater in town, which I enjoy. They have twice a year world famous exhibitions that they bring (Cleopatra, Pompeii, Diana) and I go to them all, but for this you don't need to be a member.
This review will focus on the Children's museum of Cincinnati.

Concept is really nice and was probably new many years ago, but from the early days when the city's big firms (Duke energy, Kroger, P&G etc) invested in for their name to be around, nothing changed.

Museum froze in time. Most exhibitions are quite old, broken, rusty, dirty and some even irrelevant. In the last couple of times that we have been there, we stayed only for an hour to 90 minutes as our daughters refused to play in the same old exhibitions and just watched the live animals explanations that they bring, played in the balls room and run around in the jungle maze.

So we go there at least once a month during the winter months, but we refrain the place during summer, in order to refresh. We still drive up once a quarter or so to the amazing COSI children museum in Columbus, OH (free entrance to members of the Cincinnati museum!).

I hope that the managers of the Cincinnati children museum will find one day new sponsors for the place, that will replace and renew the exhibitions and experience centers. When that will be done (please) it might be a good idea to take the opportunity and replace also the horrible food vendors that sell there.

2  Thank Erano69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CincyMuseum, Digital Engagement Intern at Cincinnati Museum Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you so much for visiting the Cincinnati Museum Center and for posting a review. We are very sorry to hear you were displeased with the nature of the Museum Center. We have many exciting projects we are currently working on but hope to update the rest of the museum in the future. We hope you’ll be back to try us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This beautiful, historical building houses museums for everyone. Their is the Children's museum; kids have lots to see and do in there. The Museum of Natural History and Science is also great for the kids, but for adults too. The Cincinnati History Museum has a model of Cincinnati from the early 1900's, and a WWII exhibit that war buffs will love. There is also an Omnimax theater that shows documentaries and educational movies on a giant curved screen. We love this placeWe've been here several times. Perfect for a rainy summer day. I almost forgot, they usually have a special travelling exhibit . The current one is the Princess Diana exhibit; which my wife loved.

Thank cgulley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CincyMuseum, Digital Engagement Intern at Cincinnati Museum Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thanks so much for your visits and your kind review! We love hearing how much our visitors enjoy their time at Cincinnati Museum Center, and we hope you'll be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Museum Center also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Museum Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing