We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow what a beautiful repurposed property.”

Cincinnati Museum Center
Ranked #8 of 175 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Children's Museum & Special Exhibit Hall remain open during the restoration of historic Union Terminal.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow what a beautiful repurposed property.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

This building was previously a train station but has been redone as a museum and the result is a wonderful surprise. From the moment you walk in the space is fabulous with soaring ceilings and echoes of a time gone by. The building alone is worth a look let alone the museum. This is home to the Cincinnati History Museum, Duke Energy Children's Museum, the Museum of Natural History ...After the decline of railroad travel, most of the building was converted to other uses, and now houses museums, theaters, and a library, as well as special travelling exhibitions. Parking is plentiful and free and a snack bar is available for a light lunch or just a quick drink while you enjoy the scenery. It's a don't miss.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NanSMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    992
    370
    91
    27
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Awesome museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

My fiancee and I went here and this place was hard to find, thank God for the GPS. I think everyone that needs something to do in Cincinnati, this is it. Plan on spending more than 3 hours. They have a Cincinnati history museum and a natural history museum. We got the tickets for the Imax, we thought it would be more about the fish in the South Pacific instead of how to save the South Pacific. It was still good but not what we thought it was. This place is still an active Amtrak at night. The murals on the ceiling are pretty awesome.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cincinnatti Must See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is a must see in Cincinnatti. Plan on 3-4 hrs to see everything. They have various museums to see. Various activities to do. I would recommend this to anyone. Various Murals on the ceiling in the rotunda was very breath taking. This a history museum encompasses many aspects from space, industry, animals. A lot of companies I did not know that where from Cincy.
Cleanliness was average. Customer service was good. The price was reasonable for what all you could see. You have to pay for parking also.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chautauqua, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Diana exhibit was wonderfully presented; the museum building is a treat in itself! Don't miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We drove 6 hours specifically to view the Diana Exhibit and were not disappointed. Poignant, sweet, honest; the items that Diana's family loaned for the world to see only make us love her more! Diana's life reminds us that we all have something to give; gestures big or small can affect others. Life is meant to be lived and shared. May Diana live in our hearts always.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mama5324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, mi
Level Contributor
1,137 reviews
224 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 570 helpful votes
“The best example of Art Deco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Free close parking for fifteen minutes if you just want to marvel at this Iconic Landmark. Be sure to see the murals in the half-dome and see the beautiful Ice Cream Parlor.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank flintjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Museum Center also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Museum Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing