We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Union Terminal”

Cincinnati Museum Center
Ranked #8 of 183 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Children's Museum & Special Exhibit Hall remain open during the restoration of historic Union Terminal.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Fairfield, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Union Terminal”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The museum is awesome. So much to see. I love the murals (or whatever they are called) on the upper walls, showing pictures from the past. Just a wonderful place.

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,007
    375
    97
    29
    20
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Dead Sea Scrolls”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

PRICE: We paid $52 for 2 tickets to see the Dead Sea Scrolls exhibit.

LENGTH: We stayed for 2 1/2 hours.

ENVIRONMENT: The Cincy Museum is beautiful! A large foyer greets you as you walk in, with arching ceilings (somewhat reminiscent of Grand Central Station, NYC).

EXPERIENCE: Our tickets were quickly obtained at Will Call. However, even though we were on time, the exhibit was running behind. We probably didn't enter the main attraction for 20-30 minutes after arrival. This was an indication at the massive traffic flow of people coming to see the Scrolls.

Unfortunately, that was an issue throughout the night. Too many people made it next to impossible to see anything worth seeing. Sure, you could get close the large clay pots, but any of the actual scrolls had such a line that you could wait 30 minutes to see one tiny scroll.

My advice to the museum/exhibitors would be to limit the ticket sales further (they are already restricted and time-slotted). There were far too many people there to experience the scrolls as I had hoped for.

That being said, I can now check this off my life's list.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Koogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CincyMuseum, Social Media Coordniator at Cincinnati Museum Center, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and have sent it to the head of special exhibits so we can make our current exhibit run more smoothly. We hope you’ll visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Go early”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Dead scrolls was sold out by the time we got there at 1030. The butterfly movie was pretty neat although I wouldn't call it must see. Parking for 6$ is a lil steep and be careful there are potholes everywhere. Te museum of history of science was cool. It requires a lot of reading. The 1 pm bat show never took place and they kept telling us it would start any minute. If you don't have kids, they won't let you Ito the childrens museum. We skipped the Cincinnati history museum. Overall, spent about 35$ for 2 people about 4 hours of learning. Not sure that I would go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cincinnati wouldn't be the same without Union Terminal”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Walking into Union Terminal you can easily feel the energy of the past. I can't help but imagine the bustling WW2 era crowds--soldiers coming home, soldiers going away, kisses, hugs and tears. That's just when you walk into the rotunda. The museums are superb and the train museum on the upper level is a must! For history lovers, don't miss the Union Terminal.

Helpful?
1 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A must for families”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is one of the best Children's museums out there. My kids love it! There is even some things for parents to do as well.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AH_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Museum Center also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Museum Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing